HRVFantech HEROHVI 2505147

Fantech HERO 200H

Heat recovery ventilator (HRV). Moves heat between the outgoing and incoming air, so winter fresh air arrives warmer. Moisture goes out with the stale air.

  • ENERGY STAR (Canada)

About $1,640Equipment only, at SupplyHouse, October 2026. Installed cost is more.

Fantech HERO fresh-air appliance, a metal box with round duct collars on top

Photo shows the Fantech HERO family. Photo: Fantech

At a glance

  • In its favour: HVI-certified (HVI 2505147)Its airflow and efficiency were tested to the Home Ventilating Institute’s standard.
  • Plain fact: 203 cfm at 0.4 in., 195 cfm at 0.5 in. of duct pressureCertified fresh air delivered, at HVI’s headline rating point and at the higher pressure many real ducts run at.
  • Not stated by the maker: Fantech lists its CO2RT-R as an accessory for the HERO 200H, with no wiring shownIts set-point range isn’t published, so we can’t confirm it reaches 750, and Fantech’s manuals don’t show it wired to a HERO. The D+ and D− input holds maximum speed while closed. Ask Fantech for a wiring diagram first.
  • In its favour: Humidity control documented
  • Plain fact: How it handles frost in very cold weatherInternal recirculation defrost ('WinterGuard'). It starts when the outdoor temperature falls below 23 °F (−5 °C) and does not depressurize the home.

Certifications

  • HVI certified

    HVI 2505147

    The Home Ventilating Institute tested its airflow and heat recovery. The certified numbers on this page come from its directory. Find HVI 2505147 in HVI’s directory

  • ENERGY STAR (Canada)

    Listed as HERO 200H

    On Natural Resources Canada’s ENERGY STAR list for HRVs and ERVs, which sets minimums for heat recovery in cold weather and for fan power. ENERGY STAR certifies HRVs and ERVs only in Canada. NRCan’s ENERGY STAR list (search the model number) (checked October 19, 2026)

Would it cover your home?

Tell it who sleeps in each bedroom. It’s checked against the 800 ppm goal the same way the app checks a unit an installer quotes.

Loading the check…

Certified airflow

How much fresh air it delivers as the ducts push back. More duct pressure, less air: that’s why the installer’s duct design matters as much as the unit.

0501001502002503000.00.20.40.60.81.0Duct pressure (in. w.g.) →cfm203 cfm195 cfm
Certified net supply airflow from the HVI directory, at each tested duct pressure. The shaded band is 0.4 to 0.5 in.: HVI’s headline rating point, and the higher pressure HouseExhale also checks because many real duct systems run above their design.
Every certified point
Duct pressure (in. w.g.)Fresh air delivered (cfm)
0.1227
0.2220
0.3212
0.4203
0.5195
0.6186
0.7178
0.8170
0.9159
1.0150
Lowest steady airflow (maker)
60 cfm
Highest airflow (maker)
203 cfm

Heat recovery

Sensible recovery (SRE) is the share of heat kept in winter, after the fan’s own heat is taken out. Higher is warmer incoming air for the same airflow.

OutdoorsAirflowSREFan powercfm per watt
32°F (0°C)85 cfm80% SRE98 W0.8
32°F (0°C)140 cfm77% SRE136 W1
32°F (0°C)195 cfm74% SRE192 W1
-13°F (-25°C)87 cfm67% SRE133 W0.6
  • Plain fact: Keeps 74–80% of the heat at 32°FAcross the airflows HVI tested.
  • In its favour: Tested at −13°F too: 67% SREHVI’s very-cold test point, useful in cold climates.

HRV or ERV: which fits your home?

Turning up on CO2

A CO2 control can switch it to a higher speed when the bedroom needs air, then back. HouseExhale’s setting: up at 750 ppm, back at 650, never above 800.

  • Not stated by the maker: Fantech lists its CO2RT-R as an accessory for the HERO 200H, with no wiring shownIts set-point range isn’t published, so we can’t confirm it reaches 750, and Fantech’s manuals don’t show it wired to a HERO. The D+ and D− input holds maximum speed while closed. Ask Fantech for a wiring diagram first.

Documented control setups for this unit

  • Fantech CO2RT-R · 99315Installer confirmation needed

    Switches to high speed. The sensor can close its relay above an adjustable CO2 setpoint, but the exact response and terminals for the current HERO 200H were not verified in the reviewed model sheet.

    Set it to 750 ppm, if it can be set that low: its maker doesn’t publish its range.

    About the Fantech CO2RT-R

What Fantech documents

  • Not stated by the maker: No CO2 control documented for its home unitsIts CO2RT-R (99315) is sold with its commercial units, and its switch-point range isn’t published.
  • In its favour: HERO: a dry-contact input holds maximum speed while closedTerminals D+ and D− (meant for a dehumidistat). A CO2 relay there should work electrically; Fantech doesn’t document it, and defrost comes first.
  • Worth knowing: Never connect 120 V to its control terminalsFantech’s manual says so; a CO2 relay needs its own 24-volt supply.
  • Plain fact: Flex: its boost timers run 20 to 60 minutesA timer input runs its time and stops, rather than staying high.

Four ways to make it turn up by itself

  • A CO2 control on its high-speed inputAsk your installer

    HERO’s D+/D− input holds maximum speed while closed. Undocumented for CO2: your installer confirms.

  • A night scheduleAsk your installer

    A timer on its timer or D+/D− input, or its wall control’s settings.

  • Its maker’s CO2 controlAsk your maker first

    Fantech’s CO2RT-R exists, but Fantech doesn’t show it wired to a HERO or Flex. Ask Fantech first.

  • Your monitor and a smart-home relayAsk your maker first

    A dry-contact relay on D+/D−. Not documented by Fantech.

How to add CO₂ control to an HRV or ERV · CO₂ controls

Installing it

The maker’s facts an installer plans around. Your installer confirms them for your home.

Power
120 V, 60 Hz, single phase, 2.0 A, 210 W. A 3-foot plug-in power cord with a 3-prong plug.Scope: 2.0 A max also on Fantech's HERO page, the 2025 brochure and SupplyHouse
Duct connections
6 in (152 mm) round metal duct collars with rubber seals, all on top. The collars have plastic shrouds with built-in backdraft dampers.Scope: 6 in round collars also on the 2023 spec sheet; 'top-mounted' also at SupplyHouse
Size
Height 24 7/8 in (626 mm) × width 27 7/8 in (707 mm) × depth 15 3/8 in (391 mm). The spec sheet adds 23 in as an unlabeled fourth size.
Weight
59 lb (26.55 kg), including the coreScope: the June 2025 brochure also says 59 lb (26 kg); the 2022 product card says 58.5 lb
Mounting
On a wall with the included speed bracket, installed upright; or hung from the ceiling joists with chains, hook screws and springs, kept level. For the 200H the IOM says to move the vibration isolators to the holes shown.Scope: bracket included per the 2023 spec sheet; wall bracket kit 428546 and chain kit 404261 per the 2020 HERO manual parts list
Drain line
Yes: as an HRV it needs a drain line for condensation. The IOM's drain step is 'only necessary for HRV products', and a drain tube comes in the box for HRVs.Scope: family IOM (p. 14); the 200H is the HRV per its spec sheet
Cold weather
Internal recirculation defrost ('WinterGuard'). It starts when the outdoor temperature falls below 23 °F (−5 °C) and does not depressurize the home.
Balancing the airflow
Manual balancing using integrated pressure taps
Ducts
Dedicated or simplified central-HVAC integrations per manual
In the box
Casing, collars, terminals, power cord, long wall bracket, washers, wood screws, chains (4), springs (4), hook screws (4), chain screws, sheet-metal screws, drain tube (HRV) and a balancing chart. No wall control. SupplyHouse also lists the external electrical box with easy-connect ports and collar shrouds with backdraft dampers.Scope: HERO family box list

Controls

  • Comes with: None: wall controls are not in the box. SupplyHouse says it is compatible with the ECO-Touch programmable wall control.
  • Wall controls sold: The spec sheet lists ECO-TOUCH-IAQ, ECO-Feel, EDF7, EDF1R, RTS-W, RTS2, RTS5 and MDEH1. Fantech's product card gives item numbers ECO-Touch Auto IAQ 414727, ECO-Feel Auto IAQ 414729 and RTS-W 414920. Fantech's current controls page also lists EDF3, EDF8 and RTS4.
  • Boost: Timers that run maximum speed for a set time: RTS2 20 min ('20 minute timer override'); RTS4 and RTS5 20/40/60 min; RTS-W wireless 20/40/60 min, which pairs only through ECO-Touch IAQ.
  • App or smart home: None listed on Fantech's residential controls page
  • High-speed input: D+/D− dehumidistat dry contact: shorted, the unit runs at MAX speed until the contact opens (held). T+/T− timer; S+/S− remote off. Never connect 120 V to these contacts.
Scope: item numbers from https://appliancefactoryparts.com/content/pdfs/291743-2.pdf; inputs from the 2026 HERO IOM
Humidity control
Documented
Bathroom boost
Documented
Works without the internet
Documented

Owning it

Equipment price
  • $1,640.33 at SupplyHouse, October 17, 2026In stock (27). No sale or 'was' price shown. Same as the August 31 price.
  • $1,267 at Sylvane, October 17, 2026No compare-at price shown; stock status not shown in the fetch.
Rebates
Federal tax credits ended for work after 2025. Some states and utilities still pay toward an HRV or ERV: rebates by state.
Filters
  • Type: Two washable electrostatic panel filters, plus a MERV 8 supply-side filter
  • MERV: Electrostatic panels are MERV 3 by default (product card). Integrated MERV 8 supply filter (SupplyHouse, 2022 card). Optional MERV 13 and HEPA kits.
  • Size: Panels 7.87 × 13.77 × 0.125 in (200 × 350 × 3 mm); MERV 8 supply filter 5.77 × 14.06 × 1.75 in (146.5 × 357 × 44.5 mm)
  • Part: MERV 8 kit 428527; MERV 13 kit 428549 (pack of 2); HEPA kit 428552 (pack of 2); electrostatic 428521
  • How often: Clean the electrostatic filters, and check or replace the MERV 8 filter, every 3 months or when dirty (2020 manual); the 2026 IOM says check filters every 3 months and the core every 6 months
Scope: part numbers from SupplyHouse and the 2020 HERO manual (https://www.appliancefactoryparts.com/content/pdfs/291072-1.pdf); panel size also on the 2023 spec sheet
Warranty
  • Core: Limited lifetime on the counterflow (aluminum) core
  • Parts: 5 years (the IOM: electrical components and damper motor)
  • Motor: 7 years on fan motors
  • Conditions: Limited warranty, from the date of purchase (2020 manual). Void after improper installation, unauthorized work, or connecting appliances such as dryers or range hoods.
Scope: same terms on Fantech's 200H product card (2025), at SupplyHouse and in the 2026 IOM's HRV section
Sound
Not stated in the sources we found
Availability
Active: on Fantech's current HERO page and online catalogue; in stock at SupplyHouse, which says it replaces the VHR2004 and VHR200R

Fantech’s page for the HERO 200H (opens in a new tab)

Not known yet

What we couldn’t confirm from the maker or HVI. Ask the installer, and get it in writing with the quote.

  • Fantech’s confirmation that its CO2 sensor works with the HERO 200H
  • Exactly how it responds to a CO2 control
  • How loud it is

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

  • Weight: 59 lb on the 2023 spec sheet and in the 2025 brochure; 58.5 lb on the 2022 product card.

Other sizes and similar units

Other Fantech HERO sizes

Other HRVs with similar airflow

Compare them side by side All units

Sources

Certified airflow and efficiency from the HVI directory (exported September 23, 2026), joined to this exact model by its HVI number. The maker’s facts from our review of August 31, 2026 and our research of October 17, 2026. This is product information, not a design: your installer confirms the ducts, room-by-room airflow and controls, then measures the airflow after install.

Thinking about a system?

Measure your bedrooms first. When installers quote, the app checks the exact unit they propose, this one or any HVI-certified unit, against what your bedrooms need.