HRVLifebreath MAXHVI 2505460
Lifebreath 205MAX
Heat recovery ventilator (HRV). Moves heat between the outgoing and incoming air, so winter fresh air arrives warmer. Moisture goes out with the stale air.
- ENERGY STAR (Canada)
About $1,293Equipment only, at HVACQuick, October 2026. Installed cost is more.
- Fresh air in, from outside
- Fresh air out, to the rooms
- Stale air in, from the rooms
- Stale air out, to outside
Our drawing, measured from Lifebreath 205 MAX spec sheet (205 MAX - 0826), "Dimensions" (page 1) to about half an inch: 33 5/8 in wide, 18 3/4 in high, 15 in deep; 6 in collars on top. The numbers are ours, the same on every unit.
- 159 cfmFresh air at 0.5 in. of duct pressure
- 170 cfmAt 0.4 in., HVI’s rating point
- 79–83%Heat recovery at 32°F (SRE)
- 58–86 WFan power at 32°F
At a glance
- In its favour: HVI-certified (HVI 2505460)Its airflow and efficiency were tested to the Home Ventilating Institute’s standard.
- Plain fact: 170 cfm at 0.4 in., 159 cfm at 0.5 in. of duct pressureCertified fresh air delivered, at HVI’s headline rating point and at the higher pressure many real ducts run at.
- Not stated by the maker: No Lifebreath CO2 control; terminals 2 and 6 hold high speed while joinedLifebreath’s manuals show its own 99-101 dry-contact timer there, and its METRO manual allows third-party dry-contact timers. A CO2 relay would go there too: ask your installer.
- Plain fact: How it handles frost in very cold weatherIntelligent recirculating damper defrost. Lifebreath's FAQ says its units go into defrost below -3 °C (27 °F).
Certifications
HVI certified
HVI 2505460
The Home Ventilating Institute tested its airflow and heat recovery. The certified numbers on this page come from its directory. Find HVI 2505460 in HVI’s directory
ENERGY STAR (Canada)
Listed as 205MAX
On Natural Resources Canada’s ENERGY STAR list for HRVs and ERVs, which sets minimums for heat recovery in cold weather and for fan power. ENERGY STAR certifies HRVs and ERVs only in Canada. NRCan’s ENERGY STAR list (search the model number) (checked October 19, 2026)
Would it cover your home?
Tell it who sleeps in each bedroom. It’s checked against the 800 ppm goal the same way the app checks a unit an installer quotes.
Certified airflow
How much fresh air it delivers as the ducts push back. More duct pressure, less air: that’s why the installer’s duct design matters as much as the unit.
Every certified point
| Duct pressure (in. w.g.) | Fresh air delivered (cfm) |
|---|---|
| 0.1 | 199 |
| 0.2 | 191 |
| 0.3 | 180 |
| 0.4 | 170 |
| 0.5 | 159 |
| 0.6 | 148 |
| 0.7 | 138 |
| 0.8 | 127 |
| 0.9 | 114 |
| 1.0 | 102 |
- Lowest steady airflow (maker)
- Not stated in the review’s sources
- Highest airflow (maker)
- 182 cfm
Heat recovery
Sensible recovery (SRE) is the share of heat kept in winter, after the fan’s own heat is taken out. Higher is warmer incoming air for the same airflow.
| Outdoors | Airflow | SRE | Fan power | cfm per watt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 32°F (0°C) | 49 cfm | 83% SRE | 58 W | 0.8 |
| 32°F (0°C) | 64 cfm | 82% SRE | 66 W | 0.9 |
| 32°F (0°C) | 95 cfm | 79% SRE | 86 W | 1.1 |
| -13°F (-25°C) | 70 cfm | 69% SRE | 117 W | – |
- Plain fact: Keeps 79–83% of the heat at 32°FAcross the airflows HVI tested.
- In its favour: Tested at −13°F too: 69% SREHVI’s very-cold test point, useful in cold climates.
Turning up on CO2
A CO2 control can switch it to a higher speed when the bedroom needs air, then back. HouseExhale’s setting: up at 750 ppm, back at 650, never above 800.
- Not stated by the maker: No Lifebreath CO2 control; terminals 2 and 6 hold high speed while joinedLifebreath’s manuals show its own 99-101 dry-contact timer there, and its METRO manual allows third-party dry-contact timers. A CO2 relay would go there too: ask your installer.
What Lifebreath (Airia) documents
- Not stated by the maker: No Lifebreath CO2 controlIts controls are timers, speed and humidity.
- In its favour: Terminals 2 (ON) and 6 (HI) hold high speed while joinedIts METRO manual allows third-party dry-contact timers there; the residential manuals show Lifebreath’s own 99-101 timer. It doesn’t say what happens when the contact opens.
- Worth knowing: Nothing works when the unit is fully offA jumper between 2 and 3 turns off into standby. Some codes require fully off: ask.
Four ways to make it turn up by itself
A CO2 control on its high-speed inputAsk your installer
A CO2 relay on 2 (ON) and 6 (HI), the dry contact Lifebreath documents for high speed.
A night scheduleAsk your installer
A dry-contact timer on 2 and 6, or its DXPL03 control’s settings.
Your monitor and a smart-home relayAsk your maker first
A dry-contact relay on 2 and 6. Not documented by Lifebreath.
Its maker’s CO2 controlNot for this unit
Lifebreath doesn’t make a CO2 control.
Installing it
The maker’s facts an installer plans around. Your installer confirms them for your home.
- Power
- 120 V, 60 Hz, 1.4 A (minimum circuit 2.0 A, max breaker 15 A). Plugs into a grounded 120 V outlet; a separate 15 A circuit is recommended; no extension cords.
- Duct connections
- 6-inch (150 mm) round collars on top ("top ported"), with door-port balancing and adjustable dampers.
- Size
- 18.75 in. H × 33.62 in. W × 15 in. D.
- Weight
- 57 lb (25.8 kg); 67 lb (30 kg) shipping.
- Mounting
- Hangs from floor joists: four threaded inserts at the cabinet corners take the supplied S-hooks and hanging straps. Must be level; leave 25 in. in front for service.
- Drain line
- Sources disagree: the spec sheet lists drain connections printed as "2 - 1/2 in. (12 mm) OD" (a condensate drain), but the product page says "Drain: No". See notes.
- Cold weather
- Intelligent recirculating damper defrost. Lifebreath's FAQ says its units go into defrost below -3 °C (27 °F).
- Balancing the airflow
- Door-port balancing and adjustable dampers
- Ducts
- Multiple standard duct configurations per manual
- In the box
- The HRV, S-hooks and hanging straps, and the 99-DXPL03 wall control (listed as included on the product page, sales sheet and HVACQuick; the spec sheet's electronics section calls it optional).
Controls
- Comes with: 99-DXPL03 digital wall control ships with the unit (five speeds, five modes, 20/40/60 high-speed button, dehumidistat 20–60 % RH).
- Wall controls sold: 99-BC02 / 99-BC03 / 99-BC04 basic controls; 99-DET01 wired 20/40/60-minute timer; 99-DET02 wireless 20/40/60-minute timer (about 40 ft range); 99-RX02 wireless repeater; 99-101 two-wire mechanical dry-contact timer; Dehumidistat (no part number given)
- Boost: Timed 20, 40 or 60 minutes of high speed from the DXPL03 button or the DET01/DET02 timers; afterward the unit returns to its previous speed. Installer DIP switches set the high-speed level (Hi3 factory default on the 205 MAX sheet).
- App or smart home: None stated.
- High-speed input: Dry contact between terminals ON and HI (or H) gives high speed while closed; ON–LOW low speed; ON–BLK/DH dehumidistat. A jumper ON (2)–RED (3) changes 'fully off' to 'standby off'. Only one main control per system.
- Humidity control
- Not confirmed
- Bathroom boost
- Not confirmed
- Works without the internet
- Documented
Owning it
- Equipment price
- $1,293.30 at HVACQuick, October 17, 2026Part 93-205MAX, DXPL03 control included; in stock, ships freight. One price shown, no sale marking.
- Rebates
- Federal tax credits ended for work after 2025. Some states and utilities still pay toward an HRV or ERV: rebates by state.
- Filters
- Type: Washable filters in both airstreams
- MERV: 6; MERV 13 upgrade available
- Part: MERV 13 upgrade 65-195-6R (no part number for the standard filters)
- How often: Rinse filters every 3 months; wash the core every two years; check the drain parts yearly
- Warranty
- Core: Lifetime (HRV core)
- Parts: 5 years
- Motor: Replacement parts bought later (e.g. a motor) carry 1 year
- Labor: Not covered for installing replacement parts
- Conditions: Starts at installation, but no later than 12 months after manufacture; controls and timers carry 1 year; excludes improper installation, neglect, missed maintenance and power-quality damage.
- Sound
- Not stated in the sources we found
- Availability
- Active. Current page with no retired notice; in stock at HVACQuick.
Not known yet
What we couldn’t confirm from the maker or HVI. Ask the installer, and get it in writing with the quote.
- The lowest airflow it can run at steadily
- Whether a CO2 control from another maker is supported
- How loud it is
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
- Drain: the 205 MAX spec sheet lists drain connections ('2 - 1/2 in. (12 mm) OD'), while the product page's spec table says 'Drain: No'. Lifebreath's HRV manual describes P-trap drain installation for its HRVs. Not resolved.
- Included-control conflict inside the spec sheet: the features list says the DXPL03 is included, the electronics section calls the main control optional.
Other sizes and similar units
Other Lifebreath MAX sizes
Lifebreath 155MAX
HRV · HVI 2505085
123 cfm at 0.5 in.
Other HRVs with similar airflow

Fantech HERO 150H
HRV · HVI 2505381
140 cfm at 0.5 in.

Fantech HERO 200H
HRV · HVI 2505147
195 cfm at 0.5 in.

Zehnder ComfoAir Q350 HRV
HRV · HVI 2505023
195 cfm at 0.5 in.
Sources
- Home Ventilating Institute: Section III HRV/ERV complete product listing
- Home Ventilating Institute: Section III HRV/ERV airflow ratings
- Home Ventilating Institute: Section III HRV/ERV energy ratings
- Lifebreath: 205 MAX heat recovery ventilator
- Natural Resources Canada: ENERGY STAR heat/energy recovery ventilators: searchable product list (216 models on October 19, 2026)
- Lifebreath 205 MAX spec sheet (footer '205 MAX - 0826'; linked from the product page)
- Lifebreath Residential HRV Installation Manual (69-REShRV-INSTALL 0726)
- Lifebreath Residential HRV Homeowners Manual
- Lifebreath MAX Series sales sheet (98-MAXSERIES 0523)
- 205 MAX | Lifebreath
- Lifebreath 205 MAX spec sheet, second copy (footer '205 MAX - 0826')
- FAQ | Lifebreath
- Lifebreath MAX Series HRV Heat Recovery Ventilators (HVACQuick)
- Lifebreath: residential HRV installation manual
- Lifebreath: residential ERV installation manual
- Lifebreath: METRO installation, operation and maintenance manual
Certified airflow and efficiency from the HVI directory (exported September 23, 2026), joined to this exact model by its HVI number. The maker’s facts from our review of August 31, 2026 and our research of October 17, 2026. This is product information, not a design: your installer confirms the ducts, room-by-room airflow and controls, then measures the airflow after install.
Thinking about a system?
Measure your bedrooms first. When installers quote, the app checks the exact unit they propose, this one or any HVI-certified unit, against what your bedrooms need.