ERVFantech HEROHVI 2005335

Fantech HERO 100E

Energy recovery ventilator (ERV). Moves heat and some moisture between the outgoing and incoming air, so dry winter air keeps more of the home’s humidity and humid summer air brings in less.

  • ENERGY STAR (Canada)

About $1,305Equipment only, at SupplyHouse, October 2026. Installed cost is more.

Fantech HERO fresh-air appliance, a metal box with round duct collars on top

Photo shows the Fantech HERO family. Photo: Fantech

At a glance

  • In its favour: HVI-certified (HVI 2005335)Its airflow and efficiency were tested to the Home Ventilating Institute’s standard.
  • Plain fact: 102 cfm at 0.4 in., 95 cfm at 0.5 in. of duct pressureCertified fresh air delivered, at HVI’s headline rating point and at the higher pressure many real ducts run at.
  • Not stated by the maker: No Fantech CO2 control documented for the HEROIts D+ and D− input holds maximum speed while closed, so a CO2 relay there should work electrically. Fantech doesn’t document it: ask first. (Our August review listed Fantech’s CO2 sensor accessory for this family; Fantech’s manuals don’t show it wired to a HERO.)
  • In its favour: Humidity control documented
  • Plain fact: How it handles frost in very cold weatherInternal recirculation defrost. It starts when the outdoor temperature falls below 23 °F (−5 °C) and does not depressurize the home.

Certifications

  • HVI certified

    HVI 2005335

    The Home Ventilating Institute tested its airflow and heat recovery. The certified numbers on this page come from its directory. Find HVI 2005335 in HVI’s directory

  • ENERGY STAR (Canada)

    Listed as HERO 100E

    On Natural Resources Canada’s ENERGY STAR list for HRVs and ERVs, which sets minimums for heat recovery in cold weather and for fan power. ENERGY STAR certifies HRVs and ERVs only in Canada. NRCan’s ENERGY STAR list (search the model number) (checked October 19, 2026)

Would it cover your home?

Tell it who sleeps in each bedroom. It’s checked against the 800 ppm goal the same way the app checks a unit an installer quotes.

Loading the check…

Certified airflow

How much fresh air it delivers as the ducts push back. More duct pressure, less air: that’s why the installer’s duct design matters as much as the unit.

0501001500.00.20.40.60.81.0Duct pressure (in. w.g.) →cfm102 cfm95 cfm
Certified net supply airflow from the HVI directory, at each tested duct pressure. The shaded band is 0.4 to 0.5 in.: HVI’s headline rating point, and the higher pressure HouseExhale also checks because many real duct systems run above their design.
Every certified point
Duct pressure (in. w.g.)Fresh air delivered (cfm)
0.1119
0.2114
0.3108
0.4102
0.595
0.687
0.778
0.870
0.961
1.053
Lowest steady airflow (maker)
40 cfm
Highest airflow (maker)
102 cfm

Heat and moisture recovery

Sensible recovery (SRE) is the share of heat kept in winter, after the fan’s own heat is taken out; total recovery (TRE) counts moisture too, in summer.

OutdoorsAirflowRecoveryFan powercfm per watt
32°F (0°C)42 cfm82% SRE42 W1
32°F (0°C)70 cfm77% SRE60 W1.1
32°F (0°C)117 cfm70% SRE91 W1.2
-13°F (-25°C)68 cfm60% SRE73 W0.9
95°F (35°C), cooling42 cfm70% TRE46 W–
95°F (35°C), cooling117 cfm57% TRE98 W–
  • Plain fact: Keeps 70–82% of the heat at 32°FAcross the airflows HVI tested.
  • In its favour: Tested at −13°F too: 60% SREHVI’s very-cold test point, useful in cold climates.
  • Plain fact: Total recovery in summer: 57–70% at 95°FThe share of heat and moisture kept out on a hot, humid day.

HRV or ERV: which fits your home?

Turning up on CO2

A CO2 control can switch it to a higher speed when the bedroom needs air, then back. HouseExhale’s setting: up at 750 ppm, back at 650, never above 800.

  • Not stated by the maker: No Fantech CO2 control documented for the HEROIts D+ and D− input holds maximum speed while closed, so a CO2 relay there should work electrically. Fantech doesn’t document it: ask first. (Our August review listed Fantech’s CO2 sensor accessory for this family; Fantech’s manuals don’t show it wired to a HERO.)

What Fantech documents

  • Not stated by the maker: No CO2 control documented for its home unitsIts CO2RT-R (99315) is sold with its commercial units, and its switch-point range isn’t published.
  • In its favour: HERO: a dry-contact input holds maximum speed while closedTerminals D+ and D− (meant for a dehumidistat). A CO2 relay there should work electrically; Fantech doesn’t document it, and defrost comes first.
  • Worth knowing: Never connect 120 V to its control terminalsFantech’s manual says so; a CO2 relay needs its own 24-volt supply.
  • Plain fact: Flex: its boost timers run 20 to 60 minutesA timer input runs its time and stops, rather than staying high.

Four ways to make it turn up by itself

  • A CO2 control on its high-speed inputAsk your installer

    HERO’s D+/D− input holds maximum speed while closed. Undocumented for CO2: your installer confirms.

  • A night scheduleAsk your installer

    A timer on its timer or D+/D− input, or its wall control’s settings.

  • Its maker’s CO2 controlAsk your maker first

    Fantech’s CO2RT-R exists, but Fantech doesn’t show it wired to a HERO or Flex. Ask Fantech first.

  • Your monitor and a smart-home relayAsk your maker first

    A dry-contact relay on D+/D−. Not documented by Fantech.

How to add CO₂ control to an HRV or ERV · CO₂ controls

Installing it

The maker’s facts an installer plans around. Your installer confirms them for your home.

Power
120 V, single phase, 1.0 A, rated 120 W. A 3-foot plug-in power cord with a 3-prong plug. The nameplate in the IOM reads 120 V, 60 Hz, 1.0 A, 15 A circuit, 8 A max fuse.Scope: nameplate from the HERO IOM 428486-003, p. 3
Duct connections
5 in (125 mm) round metal duct collars with rubber seals, all on top ('top-port, drainless design')Scope: 'top-port' also on SupplyHouse; the number of collars is not stated
Size
Height 24 1/4 in (616 mm) × width 23 1/4 in (590 mm) × depth 11 1/2 in (291 mm). The spec sheet also lists an unlabeled fourth size, 22 5/8 in (575 mm).Scope: the spec sheet gives A 23 1/4, B 11 1/2, C 22 5/8, D 24 1/4 in without saying which is which
Weight
47 lb (21 kg), including the core
Mounting
On a wall with the included mounting bracket, or hung from the ceiling joists with the hanging-chain kit. The unit must stand upright against the wall, and level when hung.Scope: upright/level wording from the HERO IOM 428486-003, pp. 12-13
Drain line
No drain line needed ('drainless design')
Cold weather
Internal recirculation defrost. It starts when the outdoor temperature falls below 23 °F (−5 °C) and does not depressurize the home.
Balancing the airflow
Manual balancing using integrated pressure taps
Ducts
Dedicated or simplified central-HVAC integrations per manual
In the box
Casing, collars, terminals, power cord, long wall bracket, washers, wood screws, chains (4), springs (4), hook screws (4), chain screws, sheet-metal screws and a balancing chart. The drain tube is HRV only. No wall control.Scope: HERO family box list

Controls

  • Comes with: None: wall controls are not in the box (IOM p. 2). Balancing must be done with the ECO-Touch control.
  • Wall controls sold: Main controls: ECO-Touch IAQ (414727; touchscreen with VOC sensor), ECO-Feel IAQ (414729; TVOC sensor), EDF3, EDF8 (humidity setpoint), MDEH1 dehumidistat. Bathroom timers: RTS2, RTS4, RTS5, RTS-W (414920). Fantech says the spec-sheet controls are 'compatible with all Fantech controls'.
  • Boost: Timers that run maximum speed for a set time: RTS2 20 min (push-button); RTS4 and RTS5 20/40/60 min; RTS-W wireless 20/40/60 min, which pairs only through ECO-Touch IAQ. ECO-Touch IAQ itself offers 20 min, 40 min or continuous cycles.
  • App or smart home: None listed on Fantech's residential controls page
  • High-speed input: D+/D− dehumidistat dry contact: shorted, the unit runs at MAX speed until the contact opens (held, not timed). T+/T− are timer connections and S+/S− is remote off (standby). Never connect 120 V to these contacts.
Scope: control list and timer lengths from Fantech's controls page (https://www.fantech.net/en-us/products/fresh-air-appliances/accessories/controls); item numbers from Fantech's HERO 200H product card (https://appliancefactoryparts.com/content/pdfs/291743-2.pdf); IOM covers all HERO models
Humidity control
Documented
Bathroom boost
Documented
Works without the internet
Documented

Owning it

Equipment price
  • $1,304.62 at SupplyHouse, October 17, 2026In stock (15). No sale or 'was' price shown.
  • $928 at Sylvane, October 17, 2026Read from the page's metadata. The product section did not load in the fetch, so stock and sale status are unknown; confirm on the page.
Rebates
Federal tax credits ended for work after 2025. Some states and utilities still pay toward an HRV or ERV: rebates by state.
Filters
  • Type: Two washable electrostatic panel filters (UL900); washed in warm soapy water. Optional disposable MERV 8 kit.
  • MERV: MERV 3 standard; optional MERV 8. Fantech's HERO page and product cards say MERV 13 is not offered for the 100E (see notes).
  • Size: 7 7/8 × 9 13/16 × 1/8 in (200 × 250 × 3 mm)
  • How often: Check the filters every 3 months or when dirty; check the core every 6 months (IOM p. 33)
Scope: washing and interval from the HERO IOM 428486-003, pp. 31-33
Warranty
  • Core: 5 years (ERV core)
  • Parts: 5 years on electrical components
  • Motor: 7 years
  • Conditions: Limited warranty. Connecting appliances (such as dryers or range hoods) to the unit voids it. Full terms are behind a QR code in the IOM.
Scope: the IOM's ERV terms; the 100E spec sheet gives the same 7-year motor and 5-year electrical/core terms
Sound
Not stated in the sources we found
Availability
Active: on Fantech's current HERO page; in stock at SupplyHouse, which says it replaces the VER100

Fantech’s page for the HERO 100E (opens in a new tab)

Not known yet

What we couldn’t confirm from the maker or HVI. Ask the installer, and get it in writing with the quote.

  • A CO2 control documented for this exact model
  • How loud it is

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

  • Current: Fantech's HERO page lists max current 1.1 A for the 100E. The 100E spec sheet, the IOM nameplate and the 2025 brochure say 1.0 A, and SupplyHouse says 1 amp.
  • MERV 13 conflict. Fantech's HERO page says MERV 13 is offered on all models except the 100E, 120H and 120E-EC, and Fantech product cards say the same. The June 2025 brochure says only that optional MERV 8 and MERV 13 filters are available for the series. Fantech's HERO page also lists 'Filters: MERV 8' for all models, while the spec sheet, IOM and brochure say MERV 3 is standard.

Other sizes and similar units

Other Fantech HERO sizes

Other ERVs with similar airflow

Compare them side by side All units

Sources

Certified airflow and efficiency from the HVI directory (exported September 23, 2026), joined to this exact model by its HVI number. The maker’s facts from our review of August 31, 2026 and our research of October 17, 2026. This is product information, not a design: your installer confirms the ducts, room-by-room airflow and controls, then measures the airflow after install.

Thinking about a system?

Measure your bedrooms first. When installers quote, the app checks the exact unit they propose, this one or any HVI-certified unit, against what your bedrooms need.