ERVFantech HEROHVI 2005472

Fantech HERO 140E

Energy recovery ventilator (ERV). Moves heat and some moisture between the outgoing and incoming air, so dry winter air keeps more of the home’s humidity and humid summer air brings in less.

  • ENERGY STAR (Canada)

About $1,188Equipment only, at SupplyHouse, October 2026. Installed cost is more.

Fantech HERO fresh-air appliance, a metal box with round duct collars on top

Photo shows the Fantech HERO family. Photo: Fantech

At a glance

  • In its favour: HVI-certified (HVI 2005472)Its airflow and efficiency were tested to the Home Ventilating Institute’s standard.
  • Plain fact: 142 cfm at 0.4 in., 133 cfm at 0.5 in. of duct pressureCertified fresh air delivered, at HVI’s headline rating point and at the higher pressure many real ducts run at.
  • Not stated by the maker: No Fantech CO2 control documented for the HEROIts D+ and D− input holds maximum speed while closed, so a CO2 relay there should work electrically. Fantech doesn’t document it: ask first. (Our August review listed Fantech’s CO2 sensor accessory for this family; Fantech’s manuals don’t show it wired to a HERO.)
  • In its favour: Humidity control documented
  • Plain fact: How it handles frost in very cold weatherInternal recirculation defrost. A preset defrost sequence starts when the outdoor temperature falls below 23 °F (−5 °C) and does not depressurize the home.

Certifications

  • HVI certified

    HVI 2005472

    The Home Ventilating Institute tested its airflow and heat recovery. The certified numbers on this page come from its directory. Find HVI 2005472 in HVI’s directory

  • ENERGY STAR (Canada)

    Listed as HERO 140E

    On Natural Resources Canada’s ENERGY STAR list for HRVs and ERVs, which sets minimums for heat recovery in cold weather and for fan power. ENERGY STAR certifies HRVs and ERVs only in Canada. NRCan’s ENERGY STAR list (search the model number) (checked October 19, 2026)

Would it cover your home?

Tell it who sleeps in each bedroom. It’s checked against the 800 ppm goal the same way the app checks a unit an installer quotes.

Loading the check…

Certified airflow

How much fresh air it delivers as the ducts push back. More duct pressure, less air: that’s why the installer’s duct design matters as much as the unit.

0501001502000.00.20.40.60.81.0Duct pressure (in. w.g.) →cfm142 cfm133 cfm
Certified net supply airflow from the HVI directory, at each tested duct pressure. The shaded band is 0.4 to 0.5 in.: HVI’s headline rating point, and the higher pressure HouseExhale also checks because many real duct systems run above their design.
Every certified point
Duct pressure (in. w.g.)Fresh air delivered (cfm)
0.1167
0.2159
0.3150
0.4142
0.5133
0.6125
0.7114
0.8104
0.993
Lowest steady airflow (maker)
50 cfm
Highest airflow (maker)
142 cfm

Heat and moisture recovery

Sensible recovery (SRE) is the share of heat kept in winter, after the fan’s own heat is taken out; total recovery (TRE) counts moisture too, in summer.

OutdoorsAirflowRecoveryFan powercfm per watt
32°F (0°C)47 cfm79% SRE55 W0.8
32°F (0°C)64 cfm77% SRE66 W0.9
32°F (0°C)150 cfm70% SRE140 W1
-13°F (-25°C)66 cfm60% SRE81 W0.8
95°F (35°C), cooling47 cfm72% TRE55 W–
95°F (35°C), cooling150 cfm58% TRE163 W–
  • Plain fact: Keeps 70–79% of the heat at 32°FAcross the airflows HVI tested.
  • In its favour: Tested at −13°F too: 60% SREHVI’s very-cold test point, useful in cold climates.
  • Plain fact: Total recovery in summer: 58–72% at 95°FThe share of heat and moisture kept out on a hot, humid day.

HRV or ERV: which fits your home?

Turning up on CO2

A CO2 control can switch it to a higher speed when the bedroom needs air, then back. HouseExhale’s setting: up at 750 ppm, back at 650, never above 800.

  • Not stated by the maker: No Fantech CO2 control documented for the HEROIts D+ and D− input holds maximum speed while closed, so a CO2 relay there should work electrically. Fantech doesn’t document it: ask first. (Our August review listed Fantech’s CO2 sensor accessory for this family; Fantech’s manuals don’t show it wired to a HERO.)

What Fantech documents

  • Not stated by the maker: No CO2 control documented for its home unitsIts CO2RT-R (99315) is sold with its commercial units, and its switch-point range isn’t published.
  • In its favour: HERO: a dry-contact input holds maximum speed while closedTerminals D+ and D− (meant for a dehumidistat). A CO2 relay there should work electrically; Fantech doesn’t document it, and defrost comes first.
  • Worth knowing: Never connect 120 V to its control terminalsFantech’s manual says so; a CO2 relay needs its own 24-volt supply.
  • Plain fact: Flex: its boost timers run 20 to 60 minutesA timer input runs its time and stops, rather than staying high.

Four ways to make it turn up by itself

  • A CO2 control on its high-speed inputAsk your installer

    HERO’s D+/D− input holds maximum speed while closed. Undocumented for CO2: your installer confirms.

  • A night scheduleAsk your installer

    A timer on its timer or D+/D− input, or its wall control’s settings.

  • Its maker’s CO2 controlAsk your maker first

    Fantech’s CO2RT-R exists, but Fantech doesn’t show it wired to a HERO or Flex. Ask Fantech first.

  • Your monitor and a smart-home relayAsk your maker first

    A dry-contact relay on D+/D−. Not documented by Fantech.

How to add CO₂ control to an HRV or ERV · CO₂ controls

Installing it

The maker’s facts an installer plans around. Your installer confirms them for your home.

Power
120 V, single phase, 1.4 A, rated 167 W. A 3-foot plug-in power cord with a 3-prong plug.
Duct connections
6 in (152 mm) round metal duct collars with rubber seals, all on top (top-port configuration)Scope: the number of collars is not stated
Size
A 27 7/8 in (707 mm), B 13 3/8 in (341 mm), C 23 in (584 mm), D 24 7/8 in (626 mm). The spec sheet does not say which letter is height, width or depth.Scope: see notes: the same four numbers appear for the HERO 150H, which Fantech's brochure labels H 24 7/8 × W 27 7/8 × D 13 3/8 in
Weight
58.5 lb (26.5 kg), including the core
Mounting
On a wall with the mounting bracket, or hung from the ceiling with the hanging-chain kit. For the 140E the IOM says to move the vibration isolators to the holes shown; the unit stands upright against the wall, and level when hung.Scope: vibration-isolator step from the HERO IOM 428486-003, p. 12
Drain line
No drain line needed ('drainless design')
Cold weather
Internal recirculation defrost. A preset defrost sequence starts when the outdoor temperature falls below 23 °F (−5 °C) and does not depressurize the home.
Balancing the airflow
Manual balancing using integrated pressure taps
Ducts
Dedicated or simplified central-HVAC integrations per manual
In the box
Casing, collars, terminals, power cord, long wall bracket, washers, wood screws, chains (4), springs (4), hook screws (4), chain screws, sheet-metal screws and a balancing chart. No drain tube (HRV only) and no wall control. The spec sheet notes the wall-mounting bracket is included.Scope: HERO family box list

Controls

  • Comes with: None: wall controls are not in the box (IOM p. 2). Balancing must be done with the ECO-Touch control (balancing range 90-210 cfm).
  • Wall controls sold: Main controls: ECO-Touch IAQ (414727; VOC sensor), ECO-Feel IAQ (414729; TVOC sensor), EDF3, EDF8, MDEH1 dehumidistat. Bathroom timers: RTS2, RTS4, RTS5, RTS-W (414920). The spec sheet says the unit is 'compatible with all Fantech controls'.
  • Boost: Timers that run maximum speed for a set time: RTS2 20 min; RTS4 and RTS5 20/40/60 min; RTS-W wireless 20/40/60 min, which pairs only through ECO-Touch IAQ.
  • App or smart home: None listed on Fantech's residential controls page
  • High-speed input: D+/D− dehumidistat dry contact: shorted, the unit runs at MAX speed until the contact opens (held). T+/T− timer; S+/S− remote off. Never connect 120 V to these contacts.
Scope: control list from https://www.fantech.net/en-us/products/fresh-air-appliances/accessories/controls; item numbers from Fantech's HERO 200H product card
Humidity control
Documented
Bathroom boost
Documented
Works without the internet
Documented

Owning it

Equipment price
  • $1,188.05 at SupplyHouse, October 17, 2026In stock. No sale or 'was' price shown.
  • $1,154 at Sylvane, October 17, 2026Backordered ('will ship as soon as it is back in stock'). No compare-at price shown.
Rebates
Federal tax credits ended for work after 2025. Some states and utilities still pay toward an HRV or ERV: rebates by state.
Filters
  • Type: Two washable electrostatic panel filters (UL900). Optional disposable MERV 8 and MERV 13 kits.
  • MERV: MERV 3 standard; optional MERV 8 and MERV 13 (Fantech's HERO page lists MERV 13 for the 140E)
  • Size: 7 7/8 × 9 13/16 × 1/8 in (200 × 250 × 3 mm)
  • How often: Check the filters every 3 months or when dirty; check the core every 6 months (IOM p. 33)
Scope: MERV 13 availability from https://www.fantech.net/en-us/products/fresh-air-appliances/hero; interval from the HERO IOM
Warranty
  • Core: 5 years
  • Parts: 5 years on electrical components
  • Motor: 7 years
  • Conditions: Limited warranty. Connecting appliances to the unit voids it (IOM).
Scope: the IOM's ERV terms match; Sylvane lists the same
Sound
Not stated in the sources we found
Availability
Active: on Fantech's current HERO page, with a spec sheet revised 2026-03-18 and marked 'not final and subject to change'; in stock at SupplyHouse, backordered at Sylvane

Fantech’s page for the HERO 140E (opens in a new tab)

Not known yet

What we couldn’t confirm from the maker or HVI. Ask the installer, and get it in writing with the quote.

  • A CO2 control documented for this exact model
  • How loud it is

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

  • Cord: Fantech's spec sheet says a 3-foot plug-in cord with a 3-prong plug, while Sylvane's spec table says 'hardwired' (110-120 V).
  • Depth conflict. Fantech's spec sheet B dimension is 13 3/8 in. Sylvane lists 24.88 × 27.88 × 15.38 in (H × W × D), and SupplyHouse lists 15-3/8 in length × 27-7/8 in width. 15 3/8 in is the HERO 200H's depth.

Other sizes and similar units

Other Fantech HERO sizes

Other ERVs with similar airflow

Compare them side by side All units

Sources

Certified airflow and efficiency from the HVI directory (exported September 23, 2026), joined to this exact model by its HVI number. The maker’s facts from our review of August 31, 2026 and our research of October 17, 2026. This is product information, not a design: your installer confirms the ducts, room-by-room airflow and controls, then measures the airflow after install.

Thinking about a system?

Measure your bedrooms first. When installers quote, the app checks the exact unit they propose, this one or any HVI-certified unit, against what your bedrooms need.