ERVVenmar AI SeriesHVI 2005177

Venmar AI Series V150E75NS

Energy recovery ventilator (ERV). Moves heat and some moisture between the outgoing and incoming air, so dry winter air keeps more of the home’s humidity and humid summer air brings in less.

  • ENERGY STAR (Canada)
  1. Fresh air in, from outside
  2. Fresh air out, to the rooms
  3. Stale air in, from the rooms
  4. Stale air out, to outside

Our drawing, measured from Broan-NuTone / Venmar spec sheet V150E75NT/V150E75NS, "5" Ports Dimensions (Side Ports)", drawing VK0125A (page 2) to about half an inch: 18 3/4 in wide (23 3/8 in across the collars), 19 1/8 in high, 16 1/8 in deep; 5 in collars. The numbers are ours, the same on every unit.

At a glance

  • In its favour: HVI-certified (HVI 2005177)Its airflow and efficiency were tested to the Home Ventilating Institute’s standard.
  • Plain fact: 129 cfm at 0.4 in., 125 cfm at 0.5 in. of duct pressureCertified fresh air delivered, at HVI’s headline rating point and at the higher pressure many real ducts run at.
  • Not stated by the maker: No true CO2 control from VenmarOn AI series units, OVR and 12V take a dry contact; whether it holds high speed while closed isn’t stated, so have it tested. Not VENT: it drops the unit to standby when the contact opens.
  • In its favour: Humidity control documented
  • Plain fact: How it handles frost in very cold weatherSources disagree. Both spec-sheet revisions say recirculation defrost (Homeshield) starting at 23 °F (-5 °C), with an extra 10-minute defrost every 5 cycles; the product page lists defrost type 'Exhaust'. See notes.
  • Worth knowing: Sold in Canada onlyCheck it’s available where you live.

Certifications

  • HVI certified

    HVI 2005177

    The Home Ventilating Institute tested its airflow and heat recovery. The certified numbers on this page come from its directory. Find HVI 2005177 in HVI’s directory

  • ENERGY STAR (Canada)

    Listed as V150E75NS

    On Natural Resources Canada’s ENERGY STAR list for HRVs and ERVs, which sets minimums for heat recovery in cold weather and for fan power. ENERGY STAR certifies HRVs and ERVs only in Canada. NRCan’s ENERGY STAR list (search the model number) (checked October 19, 2026)

Would it cover your home?

Tell it who sleeps in each bedroom. It’s checked against the 800 ppm goal the same way the app checks a unit an installer quotes.

Loading the check…

Certified airflow

How much fresh air it delivers as the ducts push back. More duct pressure, less air: that’s why the installer’s duct design matters as much as the unit.

0501001502000.00.20.40.60.81.01.2Duct pressure (in. w.g.) →cfm129 cfm125 cfm
Certified net supply airflow from the HVI directory, at each tested duct pressure. The shaded band is 0.4 to 0.5 in.: HVI’s headline rating point, and the higher pressure HouseExhale also checks because many real duct systems run above their design.
Every certified point
Duct pressure (in. w.g.)Fresh air delivered (cfm)
0.1140
0.2138
0.3133
0.4129
0.5125
0.6119
0.7117
0.8110
0.9106
1.0100
1.193
1.287
Lowest steady airflow (maker)
35 cfm
Highest airflow (maker)
138 cfm

Heat and moisture recovery

Sensible recovery (SRE) is the share of heat kept in winter, after the fan’s own heat is taken out; total recovery (TRE) counts moisture too, in summer.

OutdoorsAirflowRecoveryFan powercfm per watt
32°F (0°C)36 cfm82% SRE15 W–
32°F (0°C)66 cfm77% SRE29 W–
32°F (0°C)117 cfm71% SRE90 W–
-13°F (-25°C)66 cfm60% SRE64 W–
95°F (35°C), cooling66 cfm64% TRE29 W–
95°F (35°C), cooling114 cfm53% TRE90 W–
  • Plain fact: Keeps 71–82% of the heat at 32°FAcross the airflows HVI tested.
  • In its favour: Tested at −13°F too: 60% SREHVI’s very-cold test point, useful in cold climates.
  • Plain fact: Total recovery in summer: 53–64% at 95°FThe share of heat and moisture kept out on a hot, humid day.

HRV or ERV: which fits your home?

Turning up on CO2

A CO2 control can switch it to a higher speed when the bedroom needs air, then back. HouseExhale’s setting: up at 750 ppm, back at 650, never above 800.

  • Not stated by the maker: No true CO2 control from VenmarOn AI series units, OVR and 12V take a dry contact; whether it holds high speed while closed isn’t stated, so have it tested. Not VENT: it drops the unit to standby when the contact opens.

What Broan, Venmar or vänEE documents

  • Not stated by the maker: No true CO2 control for its HRVs and ERVsIts wall controls go by humidity and outdoor temperature. Overture says it ventilates on CO2, but publishes no sensor type or levels; one spec lists eCO2.
  • Worth knowing: AI series: not the VENT inputA contact there runs the unit only while closed. Open, it drops to standby, so ventilation would stop whenever CO2 is low.
  • Plain fact: AI series: OVR and 12V take “any dry contact”Meant for a crank timer. Broan doesn’t say whether it holds high while closed: have it tested.
  • Worth knowing: Never put 24 V on the AI’s 6-terminal blockBroan says it can permanently damage the control board. The relay must be voltage-free.
  • Plain fact: Older models: joining OL and OC gives high speedBroan’s own push buttons run 20 to 60 minutes; how a held contact behaves isn’t stated.

Four ways to make it turn up by itself

  • A night scheduleDocumented

    The VTTOUCHW and VT8W wall controls can be scheduled.

  • Its maker’s CO2 controlAsk your maker first

    Overture says it ventilates on CO2, but its sensor and levels aren’t published. Ask before relying on it for 750.

  • A CO2 control on its high-speed inputAsk your maker first

    On AI units, OVR and 12V take a dry contact, never VENT. Whether it holds high is untested: your installer checks.

  • Your monitor and a smart-home relayAsk your maker first

    A voltage-free relay on OVR and 12V. Not documented by Broan.

How to add CO₂ control to an HRV or ERV · CO₂ controls

Installing it

The maker’s facts an installer plans around. Your installer confirms them for your home.

Power
120 V, 60 Hz, 2.4 A, 163 W. Plugs in: 6 ft cord with a 3-prong grounded plug (no extension cords).
Duct connections
5-inch round collars, four connections, on the side (NS = side ports; V150E75NT has top ports).
Size
19.13 H × 23.5 W × 16.3 L (the page gives no units; inches by context).
Weight
About 37 lb (16.8 kg) assembled with core; about 44 lb (20 kg) shipping.
Mounting
Hung from joists on the included chains, or wall-mounted on 2 or 4 included universal brackets (four screws must hit studs). Within 1/4 in. of level; space between 50 °F and 149 °F, near an outside wall, within 6 ft of an outlet.
Drain line
No drain line needed ("No drain required"; "Drain Is Not Required for ERV Models").
Cold weather
Sources disagree. Both spec-sheet revisions say recirculation defrost (Homeshield) starting at 23 °F (-5 °C), with an extra 10-minute defrost every 5 cycles; the product page lists defrost type 'Exhaust'. See notes.
Balancing the airflow
Virtuo constant-airflow auto-balancing
Ducts
Dedicated or selected central-HVAC integrations per manual
In the box
Washable MERV 8 filter (plus exhaust filter), hanging chains, universal brackets and screws, tie wraps, terminal connector for a wall control, 6 ft power cord.

Controls

  • Comes with: No wall control ships with the unit. It has a built-in LCD screen for setting airflow, balancing and fault codes; a wall control is optional.
  • Wall controls sold: VTTOUCHW Advanced Touchscreen (main): SMART, continuous, intermittent, recirculation (where offered), TURBO, AWAY, weekly schedule, humidity setting; VAUTOW Automatic (main): continuous MIN/MED/MAX, AUTO by outdoor temperature, intermittent, TURBO; VTSPEEDW Speed Selector (main): continuous 30–100 % speed, intermittent, TURBO; VTDEHUMW Dehumidistat (main): built-in humidity sensor, 30–55 % RH; VBATHW 20-40-60 (auxiliary, wired): runs MAX for 20, 40 or 60 minutes; VBATHBTW 20-40-60 Deluxe (auxiliary, 2 AAA batteries, pairs by Bluetooth with VTTOUCHW only; also boosts when it senses a humidity rise)
  • Boost: Timed: VBATHW / VBATHBTW give 20, 40 or 60 minutes at MAX; TURBO on the main controls runs MAX for 4 hours, then returns to the previous mode. The 20-40-60 override can be set to stay balanced (BAL), push more exhaust (PER) or keep distribution constant (DIS).
  • App or smart home: None. No app or Wi-Fi in any AI Series document opened.
  • High-speed input: Two dry-contact inputs. VENT (terminal block J13): held input. Closed runs the mode chosen in the DRY menu (MIN, INT, AUT or MAX); opening it puts the unit in Standby; it overrides the main wall control. OVR + 12V on the 6-position block: for the 20-40-60 control or a crank timer / any dry contact. Never put 24 VAC on the 6-position block.
  • Recirculation note: Recirculation mode is not offered on this model (manual and spec sheet).
Scope: Wall-control list and behaviour come from the AI Series Wall Controls catalog and the AI Series manuals, which cover the whole AI Series; the catalog does not name individual models. The V150E75NS spec sheet names automatic, advanced touchscreen, deluxe and 20-40-60 controls plus a dehumidistat, without part numbers; Canadian part numbers were not confirmed.
Humidity control
Documented
Bathroom boost
Documented
Works without the internet
Documented

Owning it

Equipment price
Not stated in the sources we found
Rebates
Federal tax credits ended for work after 2025. Some states and utilities still pay toward an HRV or ERV: rebates by state.
Filters
  • Type: Washable MERV 8 filter included; optional MERV 13 upgrade
  • MERV: 8 standard; 13 optional
  • Part: MERV 8 filter kit SV66133 (product page and manual); MERV 13 printed 'V242851' on the spec sheet
  • How often: Clean filters every 3 months; clean the core once a year in the fall (do not soak an ERV core in water)
Warranty
  • Core: 5 years (ERV core)
  • Parts: 5 years
  • Labor: Not covered (labor and shipping excluded)
  • Conditions: Bill of purchase required; parts coverage depends on doing the core maintenance; residential use only; excludes poor installation, misuse and negligence.
Sound
Not stated in the sources we found
Availability
Region-limited (Canada): listed on Broan-NuTone Canada with no discontinued notice, branded Broan AI Series on that page and sold as vänEE V150E75NS by a Quebec retailer. No US retailer listing found.

Venmar’s page for the V150E75NS (opens in a new tab)

Not known yet

What we couldn’t confirm from the maker or HVI. Ask the installer, and get it in writing with the quote.

  • Whether a CO2 control from another maker is supported
  • A current equipment price
  • How loud it is

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

  • Defrost: spec sheets 1109192E and 1109192H both say 'Recirculation defrost' at -5 °C (23 °F) and also 'No recirculation mode'; the product page lists 'Defrost type: Exhaust'; AirGreen (Quebec retailer/installer) says 'exhaust only, supply fan off during the cycle'. The August 31 catalog recorded exhaust defrost from the product page. Not resolved.
  • Dimension: product page 19.13 × 23.5 × 16.3; AirGreen lists 23.38 × 16.13 × 19.13 in. (L × D × H).

Other sizes and similar units

Other Venmar AI Series sizes

Other ERVs with similar airflow

Compare them side by side All units

Sources

Certified airflow and efficiency from the HVI directory (exported September 23, 2026), joined to this exact model by its HVI number. The maker’s facts from our review of August 31, 2026 and our research of October 17, 2026. This is product information, not a design: your installer confirms the ducts, room-by-room airflow and controls, then measures the airflow after install.

Thinking about a system?

Measure your bedrooms first. When installers quote, the app checks the exact unit they propose, this one or any HVI-certified unit, against what your bedrooms need.