ERVLifebreath Residential ERVHVI 2004920
Lifebreath 130ERVD
Energy recovery ventilator (ERV). Moves heat and some moisture between the outgoing and incoming air, so dry winter air keeps more of the home’s humidity and humid summer air brings in less.
- ENERGY STAR (Canada)
About $1,219Equipment only, at SupplyHouse, October 2026. Installed cost is more.
- Fresh air in, from outside
- Fresh air out, to the rooms
- Stale air in, from the rooms
- Stale air out, to outside
Our drawing, measured from Lifebreath 130 ERVD spec sheet (130 ERVD - 0125), "Dimensions" (page 1) to about half an inch: 22 3/4 in wide, 17 1/4 in high, 14 in deep; 5 in collars on top. The numbers are ours, the same on every unit.
- 133 cfmFresh air at 0.5 in. of duct pressure
- 144 cfmAt 0.4 in., HVI’s rating point
- 73–75%Heat recovery at 32°F (SRE)
- 80–99 WFan power at 32°F
At a glance
- In its favour: HVI-certified (HVI 2004920)Its airflow and efficiency were tested to the Home Ventilating Institute’s standard.
- Plain fact: 144 cfm at 0.4 in., 133 cfm at 0.5 in. of duct pressureCertified fresh air delivered, at HVI’s headline rating point and at the higher pressure many real ducts run at.
- Not stated by the maker: No Lifebreath CO2 control; terminals 2 and 6 hold high speed while joinedLifebreath’s manuals show its own 99-101 dry-contact timer there, and its METRO manual allows third-party dry-contact timers. A CO2 relay would go there too: ask your installer.
- Plain fact: How it handles frost in very cold weatherRecirculating damper defrost: a damper recirculates house air through the core to clear frost. Lifebreath's FAQ says its ERVs/HRVs go into defrost when it is below -3 °C (27 °F) outside.
Certifications
HVI certified
HVI 2004920
The Home Ventilating Institute tested its airflow and heat recovery. The certified numbers on this page come from its directory. Find HVI 2004920 in HVI’s directory
ENERGY STAR (Canada)
Listed as 130ERVD
On Natural Resources Canada’s ENERGY STAR list for HRVs and ERVs, which sets minimums for heat recovery in cold weather and for fan power. ENERGY STAR certifies HRVs and ERVs only in Canada. NRCan’s ENERGY STAR list (search the model number) (checked October 19, 2026)
Would it cover your home?
Tell it who sleeps in each bedroom. It’s checked against the 800 ppm goal the same way the app checks a unit an installer quotes.
Certified airflow
How much fresh air it delivers as the ducts push back. More duct pressure, less air: that’s why the installer’s duct design matters as much as the unit.
Every certified point
| Duct pressure (in. w.g.) | Fresh air delivered (cfm) |
|---|---|
| 0.1 | 172 |
| 0.2 | 161 |
| 0.3 | 153 |
| 0.4 | 144 |
| 0.5 | 133 |
| 0.6 | 125 |
| 0.7 | 117 |
| 0.8 | 106 |
| 0.9 | 97 |
| 1.0 | 87 |
| 1.2 | 68 |
| 1.4 | 47 |
- Lowest steady airflow (maker)
- Not stated in the review’s sources
- Highest airflow (maker)
- Not stated in the review’s sources
Heat and moisture recovery
Sensible recovery (SRE) is the share of heat kept in winter, after the fan’s own heat is taken out; total recovery (TRE) counts moisture too, in summer.
| Outdoors | Airflow | Recovery | Fan power | cfm per watt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 32°F (0°C) | 89 cfm | 75% SRE | 80 W | – |
| 32°F (0°C) | 110 cfm | 73% SRE | 99 W | – |
| -13°F (-25°C) | 78 cfm | 65% SRE | 105 W | – |
| 95°F (35°C), cooling | 83 cfm | 49% TRE | 78 W | – |
- Plain fact: Keeps 73–75% of the heat at 32°FAcross the airflows HVI tested.
- In its favour: Tested at −13°F too: 65% SREHVI’s very-cold test point, useful in cold climates.
- Plain fact: Total recovery in summer: 49% at 95°FThe share of heat and moisture kept out on a hot, humid day.
Turning up on CO2
A CO2 control can switch it to a higher speed when the bedroom needs air, then back. HouseExhale’s setting: up at 750 ppm, back at 650, never above 800.
- Not stated by the maker: No Lifebreath CO2 control; terminals 2 and 6 hold high speed while joinedLifebreath’s manuals show its own 99-101 dry-contact timer there, and its METRO manual allows third-party dry-contact timers. A CO2 relay would go there too: ask your installer.
What Lifebreath (Airia) documents
- Not stated by the maker: No Lifebreath CO2 controlIts controls are timers, speed and humidity.
- In its favour: Terminals 2 (ON) and 6 (HI) hold high speed while joinedIts METRO manual allows third-party dry-contact timers there; the residential manuals show Lifebreath’s own 99-101 timer. It doesn’t say what happens when the contact opens.
- Worth knowing: Nothing works when the unit is fully offA jumper between 2 and 3 turns off into standby. Some codes require fully off: ask.
Four ways to make it turn up by itself
A CO2 control on its high-speed inputAsk your installer
A CO2 relay on 2 (ON) and 6 (HI), the dry contact Lifebreath documents for high speed.
A night scheduleAsk your installer
A dry-contact timer on 2 and 6, or its DXPL03 control’s settings.
Your monitor and a smart-home relayAsk your maker first
A dry-contact relay on 2 and 6. Not documented by Lifebreath.
Its maker’s CO2 controlNot for this unit
Lifebreath doesn’t make a CO2 control.
Installing it
The maker’s facts an installer plans around. Your installer confirms them for your home.
- Power
- 120 V, 60 Hz, 1.7 A (minimum circuit 2.0 A, max breaker 15 A). Plugs into a grounded 120 V outlet; a separate 15 A circuit is recommended; no extension cords.
- Duct connections
- 5-inch (125 mm) round collars on top ("top port design"); balancing dampers on all collars.
- Size
- 17.25 in. H × 22.75 in. W × 14 in. D.
- Weight
- 51 lb (23 kg); 54 lb (25 kg) shipping.
- Mounting
- Hangs from the floor joists on four included adjustable straps (screws and washers not included). Must be level. Leave 25 in. in front of the access door.
- Drain line
- No drain line required ("No drains required" / "DRAIN: No").
- Cold weather
- Recirculating damper defrost: a damper recirculates house air through the core to clear frost. Lifebreath's FAQ says its ERVs/HRVs go into defrost when it is below -3 °C (27 °F) outside.
- Balancing the airflow
- Door-port balancing/adjustable dampers by model
- Ducts
- Multiple standard duct configurations per manual
- In the box
- Four adjustable hanging straps (no full packing list given).
Controls
- Wall controls sold: 99-DXPL03 digital wall control (five speeds, five modes, 20/40/60 high-speed button, dehumidistat 20–60 % RH; required for auto-balancing); 99-DXPL02 digital wall control; 99-BC02 / 99-BC03 / 99-BC04 basic controls; 99-DET01 wired 20/40/60-minute timer; 99-DET02 wireless 20/40/60-minute timer (about 40 ft range); 99-RX02 wireless repeater; 99-101 two-wire mechanical dry-contact timer
- Boost: Timed 20, 40 or 60 minutes of high speed from the DXPL03 button or the DET01/DET02 timers; afterward the unit returns to its previous speed. Timers do nothing when the unit is switched fully off unless wired for that.
- App or smart home: None stated.
- High-speed input: Dry contact between terminals ON and HI (or H) gives high speed while closed; ON–LOW gives low speed; ON–BLK/DH is the dehumidistat input. A jumper ON (2)–RED (3) changes 'fully off' to 'standby off'.
- Humidity control
- Not confirmed
- Bathroom boost
- Not confirmed
- Works without the internet
- Documented
Owning it
- Equipment price
- $1,218.55 at SupplyHouse, October 17, 2026In stock (21). No sale price shown.
- Rebates
- Federal tax credits ended for work after 2025. Some states and utilities still pay toward an HRV or ERV: rebates by state.
- Filters
- Type: Washable filters in both airstreams
- MERV: 6; MERV 13 upgrade available
- Part: MERV 13 upgrade 65-195-6R (no part number given for the standard filters)
- How often: Rinse filters every 3 months; vacuum the core gently twice a year (do not wash the ERV core)
- Warranty
- Core: 5 years (ERV core)
- Parts: 5 years on other components
- Motor: Replacement parts bought later (e.g. a motor) carry 1 year
- Labor: Not covered for installing replacement parts
- Conditions: Starts at installation, but no later than 12 months after manufacture; controls and timers carry 1 year; excludes improper installation, neglect, missed maintenance and power-quality damage (surges, lightning, generators).
- Sound
- Not stated in the sources we found
- Availability
- Active. Current product page with no retired/discontinued notice; in stock at SupplyHouse.
Not known yet
What we couldn’t confirm from the maker or HVI. Ask the installer, and get it in writing with the quote.
- The lowest airflow it can run at steadily
- Whether a CO2 control from another maker is supported
- How loud it is
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
- Amps: the product page says 1.2 A; the spec sheet (and SupplyHouse) say 1.7 A.
- Duct: the product page mentions a '5" oval duct on the top port'; the spec sheet says 5 in. round collars.
- Drain: the product page spec list says drain 'Optional' while its feature list says 'No drains required'; the ERV installation manual says a drain is required except where it stays above -13 °F outside and below 30 % indoor humidity (stated in the 30ERV section, so its scope is unclear).
- Warranty wording conflict inside the ERV homeowners manual: its introduction mentions a 5-year replacement-parts warranty, while the terms give 1 year for replacement parts bought later.
Other sizes and similar units
Other ERVs with similar airflow

Fantech HERO 140E
ERV · HVI 2005472
133 cfm at 0.5 in.
Broan AI Series B160E75RS
ERV · HVI 2005454
127 cfm at 0.5 in.
Venmar AI Series V150E75NS
ERV · HVI 2005177
125 cfm at 0.5 in.
Sources
- Home Ventilating Institute: Section III HRV/ERV complete product listing
- Home Ventilating Institute: Section III HRV/ERV airflow ratings
- Home Ventilating Institute: Section III HRV/ERV energy ratings
- Lifebreath: Lifebreath FAQ
- Natural Resources Canada: ENERGY STAR heat/energy recovery ventilators: searchable product list (216 models on October 19, 2026)
- Lifebreath 130 ERVD spec sheet (footer '130 ERVD - 0125')
- Lifebreath Residential ERV Installation Manual (69-RESERV-INSTALL 0726)
- Lifebreath Residential ERV Homeowners Manual
- Lifebreath Residential ERVs sales sheet (98-ERVSERIES_NORTH 1123)
- 130 ERVD | Lifebreath
- 130ERVD - LifeBreath 130ERVD - 130 ERVD Residential Energy Recovery Ventilator, Recirculating Defrost, 137 CFM (SupplyHouse)
- Lifebreath: residential HRV installation manual
- Lifebreath: METRO installation, operation and maintenance manual
Certified airflow and efficiency from the HVI directory (exported September 23, 2026), joined to this exact model by its HVI number. The maker’s facts from our review of August 31, 2026 and our research of October 17, 2026. This is product information, not a design: your installer confirms the ducts, room-by-room airflow and controls, then measures the airflow after install.
Thinking about a system?
Measure your bedrooms first. When installers quote, the app checks the exact unit they propose, this one or any HVI-certified unit, against what your bedrooms need.