ERVAprilAire V22BECHVI 2005110
AprilAire V22BEC
Energy recovery ventilator (ERV). Moves heat and some moisture between the outgoing and incoming air, so dry winter air keeps more of the home’s humidity and humid summer air brings in less.
About $1,290Equipment only, at SupplyHouse, October 2026. Installed cost is more.
- Fresh air in, from outside
- Fresh air out, to the rooms
- Stale air in, from the rooms
- Stale air out, to outside
Our drawing, measured from AprilAire V22BEC spec sheet, Form No. 3080 • 320339 • 02.24 (AprilAire document, copy hosted by Sylvane) (pages 1 and 2) to about half an inch: 27 1/2 in long across the collars, 23 1/8 in deep with the control box, 9 in high; 6 in collars. The numbers are ours, the same on every unit.
- 112 cfmFresh air at 0.5 in. of duct pressure
- 114 cfmAt 0.4 in., HVI’s rating point
- 65–72%Heat recovery at 32°F (SRE)
- 21–77 WFan power at 32°F
At a glance
- In its favour: HVI-certified (HVI 2005110)Its airflow and efficiency were tested to the Home Ventilating Institute’s standard.
- Plain fact: 114 cfm at 0.4 in., 112 cfm at 0.5 in. of duct pressureCertified fresh air delivered, at HVI’s headline rating point and at the higher pressure many real ducts run at.
- Not stated by the maker: No AprilAire CO2 control; its VENT terminals switch ventilation on and offThey take any 24 V AC or dry-contact, normally open control, so a CO2 relay could turn ventilation on, not up: AprilAire describes no boost speed for this unit.
- Plain fact: How it handles frost in very cold weatherAutomatic defrost that can't be switched off: when incoming outdoor air is below 23 °F, the supply fan stops and the exhaust fan runs on high to clear the core (exhaust-only defrost). Cycles: 5–23 °F, 10 min defrost every 30 min; -17–5 °F, 10 min every 20 min; below -17 °F, 10 min every 15 min.
Certifications
HVI certified
HVI 2005110
The Home Ventilating Institute tested its airflow and heat recovery. The certified numbers on this page come from its directory. Find HVI 2005110 in HVI’s directory
ENERGY STAR (Canada)
Not on the list
Not on Natural Resources Canada’s ENERGY STAR list when we checked. ENERGY STAR certifies HRVs and ERVs only in Canada, so a unit sold in the U.S. may never have been submitted; that isn’t a sign it’s less efficient. Its HVI numbers show its heat recovery and fan power. NRCan’s ENERGY STAR list (checked October 19, 2026)
Would it cover your home?
Tell it who sleeps in each bedroom. It’s checked against the 800 ppm goal the same way the app checks a unit an installer quotes.
Certified airflow
How much fresh air it delivers as the ducts push back. More duct pressure, less air: that’s why the installer’s duct design matters as much as the unit.
Every certified point
| Duct pressure (in. w.g.) | Fresh air delivered (cfm) |
|---|---|
| 0.1 | 123 |
| 0.2 | 121 |
| 0.3 | 117 |
| 0.4 | 114 |
| 0.5 | 112 |
| 0.6 | 110 |
| 0.7 | 108 |
| 0.8 | 104 |
| 1.0 | 100 |
- Lowest steady airflow (maker)
- Not stated in the review’s sources
- Highest airflow (maker)
- Not stated in the review’s sources
Heat and moisture recovery
Sensible recovery (SRE) is the share of heat kept in winter, after the fan’s own heat is taken out; total recovery (TRE) counts moisture too, in summer.
| Outdoors | Airflow | SRE | Fan power | cfm per watt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 32°F (0°C) | 59 cfm | 72% SRE | 21 W | – |
| 32°F (0°C) | 81 cfm | 69% SRE | 33 W | – |
| 32°F (0°C) | 119 cfm | 65% SRE | 77 W | – |
- Plain fact: Keeps 65–72% of the heat at 32°FAcross the airflows HVI tested.
- Not stated by the maker: No very-cold (−13°F) test in the HVI directory
Turning up on CO2
A CO2 control can switch it to a higher speed when the bedroom needs air, then back. HouseExhale’s setting: up at 750 ppm, back at 650, never above 800.
- Not stated by the maker: No AprilAire CO2 control; its VENT terminals switch ventilation on and offThey take any 24 V AC or dry-contact, normally open control, so a CO2 relay could turn ventilation on, not up: AprilAire describes no boost speed for this unit.
What AprilAire documents
- Not stated by the maker: Not checked in AprilAire’s ventilator manuals yetIts manual’s wiring page has the final word.
- Plain fact: Its thermostats run ventilation by a timer, not CO2The 8910W and 8920W ventilate by ASHRAE 62.2 or a timer; they list no CO2 sensor.
Four ways to make it turn up by itself
A night scheduleAsk your installer
Its thermostats can run the ventilator on a timer.
Its maker’s CO2 controlAsk your maker first
We found no AprilAire CO2 control; ask about your model.
A CO2 control on its high-speed inputAsk your maker first
Possible if its manual shows a high-speed input; ask your installer first.
Your monitor and a smart-home relayAsk your maker first
Not documented. Low-voltage inputs only.
Installing it
The maker’s facts an installer plans around. Your installer confirms them for your home.
- Power
- 120 VAC, 1.3 A. Plugs in with a 4 ft grounded power cord.
- Duct connections
- Four duct ports (stale air from the house, fresh air to the house, fresh air from outside, exhaust to outside) shown on the spec-sheet diagram. Collar size and port location are not stated in any AprilAire document opened. The fresh-air supply is meant to tie into the furnace return duct at least 10 ft from the blower.
- Size
- 23.125 in. H × 9 in. W × 27.5 in. D ("actual").
- Weight
- 50 lb.
- Mounting
- Wall, ceiling or floor, on the included templated bracket (pre-drilled for studs 16 in. or 24 in. on center; bolted to beams, ceilings or other sturdy structure). Leave 24 in. in front of the access door and 12 in. to reach the duct connections, switch and wiring.
- Drain line
- Not stated in the sources we found
- Cold weather
- Automatic defrost that can't be switched off: when incoming outdoor air is below 23 °F, the supply fan stops and the exhaust fan runs on high to clear the core (exhaust-only defrost). Cycles: 5–23 °F, 10 min defrost every 30 min; -17–5 °F, 10 min every 20 min; below -17 °F, 10 min every 15 min.
- Balancing the airflow
- Push-button dual-fan speed control; templated bracket
- Ducts
- Dedicated balanced ventilation; verify central-HVAC guidance
- In the box
- The ERV, Quick Start Guide, 4 lag bolts with washers, 6 bracket screws, bracket brace, left and right brackets, 4 thumb screws.
Controls
- Comes with: Built-in three-position speed switch with push-button fan-speed and supply/exhaust airflow setting; runs continuously on its own.
- Wall controls sold: AprilAire Thermostat with IAQ Control, or AprilAire Model 8120X Ventilation Controller, add scheduled/intermittent ventilation with temperature and humidity lockouts (no thermostat model numbers given). When an external control is used, the unit's switch is set to STANDBY/OFF.
- Boost: None described (no timer or boost button).
- App or smart home: None stated for the ERV itself.
- High-speed input: Two VENT terminals (2-wire, 18–24 AWG) accept an AprilAire control or any third-party 24 VAC or dry-contact, normally-open control. No separate high-speed or boost input is described.
- Humidity control
- Not confirmed
- Bathroom boost
- Not confirmed
- Works without the internet
- Documented
Owning it
- Equipment price
- $1,290.38 at SupplyHouse, October 17, 2026In stock (48). No sale price shown.
- Rebates
- Federal tax credits ended for work after 2025. Some states and utilities still pay toward an HRV or ERV: rebates by state.
- Filters
- Type: Two washable foam filters
- Size: 7.25 in. H × 10.75 in. W (nominal)
- How often: Clean or replace as often as needed, at least 3 to 4 times a year; the core also needs regular cleaning (no interval given)
- Warranty
- Core: 5 years (one warranty on the whole ventilator)
- Parts: 5 years (whole ventilator)
- Motor: 5 years (whole ventilator)
- Labor: Not covered (labor and shipping excluded)
- Conditions: Five years from the date of purchase; AprilAire may replace at its discretion; void if defects come from not installing per AprilAire's instructions. Registration is recommended but not stated as required.
- Sound
- Ferguson lists 5.7 sones / 53 dBA with flex duct and 9.9 sones / 61 dBA with rigid duct (retailer listing; airflow and distance not stated). No AprilAire document opened gives a sound rating.
- Availability
- Active. Listed among AprilAire's current ventilation models with no discontinued label; in stock at SupplyHouse.
Not known yet
What we couldn’t confirm from the maker or HVI. Ask the installer, and get it in writing with the quote.
- The lowest airflow it can run at steadily
- How it protects itself from frost in very cold weather
- Whether a CO2 control from another maker is supported
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
- Dimension: AprilAire's shop page says 23.125 in. H × 9 in. W × 27.5 in. D; Ferguson lists 23-1/8 in. H and 27-1/2 in. for depth, length and width.
Other sizes and similar units
Other ERVs with similar airflow
Broan AI Series B130E65RS
ERV · HVI 2004955
112 cfm at 0.5 in.
RenewAire EV Premium S
ERV · HVI 2004797
112 cfm at 0.5 in.
S&P TReN90
ERV · HVI 2005458
112 cfm at 0.5 in.
Sources
- Home Ventilating Institute: Section III HRV/ERV complete product listing
- Home Ventilating Institute: Section III HRV/ERV airflow ratings
- Home Ventilating Institute: Section III HRV/ERV energy ratings
- AprilAire: V22BEC energy recovery ventilator
- Natural Resources Canada: ENERGY STAR heat/energy recovery ventilators: searchable product list (216 models on October 19, 2026)
- AprilAire V22BEC spec sheet, Form No. 3080 • 320339 • 02.24 (AprilAire document, copy hosted by Sylvane)
- AprilAire V22BEC Installation Instructions, 10017429A • 02.24 (AprilAire document, copy hosted by Sylvane)
- AprilAire V22BEC Owner's Manual, 10017430A • 02.24 (AprilAire document, copy hosted by Sylvane)
- AprilAire V22BEC Quick Start Guide, 10020204A • 11.23 (AprilAire document, copy hosted by Sylvane)
- V22BEC - Aprilaire V22BEC - V22BEC Energy Recovery Ventilator w/ Easy-Install Bracket, 1.45 CFM/Watt (For Homes up to 6,000 Sq Ft) (SupplyHouse)
- AprilAire 120 CFM 120V Energy Recovery Ventilator | Ferguson
- Whole-House Ventilation System - AprilAire
- Aprilaire: 8910/8910W/8920W thermostat specification sheet
Certified airflow and efficiency from the HVI directory (exported September 23, 2026), joined to this exact model by its HVI number. The maker’s facts from our review of August 31, 2026 and our research of October 17, 2026. This is product information, not a design: your installer confirms the ducts, room-by-room airflow and controls, then measures the airflow after install.
Thinking about a system?
Measure your bedrooms first. When installers quote, the app checks the exact unit they propose, this one or any HVI-certified unit, against what your bedrooms need.