ERVPanasonic Intelli-Balance EliteHVI 2005344

Panasonic Intelli-Balance Elite (FV-11ES1)

Energy recovery ventilator (ERV). Moves heat and some moisture between the outgoing and incoming air, so dry winter air keeps more of the home’s humidity and humid summer air brings in less.

About $986Equipment only, at SupplyHouse, October 2026. Installed cost is more.

  1. Fresh air in, from outside
  2. Fresh air out, to the rooms
  3. Stale air in, from the rooms
  4. Stale air out, to outside

Our drawing, measured from Panasonic Intelli-Balance Elite 110 submittal IAQ25110SS_R4, with the duct diagram in installation manual 15ESC1450 (submittal page 1; manual page 4) to about half an inch: 28 5/8 in long, 20 1/2 in wide, 10 in high; four 5 3/4 in collars for 6 in duct, two at each end, 12 7/8 in apart. Panasonic lets an installer swap the sides (its "mirror configuration"), so yours may be the other way round. The numbers are ours, the same on every unit.

At a glance

  • In its favour: HVI-certified (HVI 2005344)Its airflow and efficiency were tested to the Home Ventilating Institute’s standard.
  • Plain fact: 110 cfm at 0.4 in., 110 cfm at 0.5 in. of duct pressureCertified fresh air delivered, at HVI’s headline rating point and at the higher pressure many real ducts run at.
  • Not stated by the maker: No Panasonic CO2 control; it has a dry-contact boost inputTerminals BST and GND. Panasonic doesn’t say whether boost holds while the contact stays closed.
  • Plain fact: How it handles frost in very cold weatherTemperate-climate model. Its built-in frost prevention works by pausing: below 14°F (-10°C) the outside damper closes and the unit goes into standby to keep the core from freezing. It runs 4 minutes each hour to check the outdoor temperature. Panasonic recommends it only where temperatures rarely drop below 14°F.

Certifications

  • HVI certified

    HVI 2005344

    The Home Ventilating Institute tested its airflow and heat recovery. The certified numbers on this page come from its directory. Find HVI 2005344 in HVI’s directory

  • ENERGY STAR (Canada)

    Not on the list

    Not on Natural Resources Canada’s ENERGY STAR list when we checked. ENERGY STAR certifies HRVs and ERVs only in Canada, so a unit sold in the U.S. may never have been submitted; that isn’t a sign it’s less efficient. Its HVI numbers show its heat recovery and fan power. NRCan’s ENERGY STAR list (checked October 19, 2026)

Would it cover your home?

Tell it who sleeps in each bedroom. It’s checked against the 800 ppm goal the same way the app checks a unit an installer quotes.

Loading the check…

Certified airflow

How much fresh air it delivers as the ducts push back. More duct pressure, less air: that’s why the installer’s duct design matters as much as the unit.

0501001500.00.20.40.60.81.01.21.4Duct pressure (in. w.g.) →cfm110 cfm110 cfm
Certified net supply airflow from the HVI directory, at each tested duct pressure. The shaded band is 0.4 to 0.5 in.: HVI’s headline rating point, and the higher pressure HouseExhale also checks because many real duct systems run above their design.
Every certified point
Duct pressure (in. w.g.)Fresh air delivered (cfm)
0.1110
0.2110
0.3110
0.4110
0.5110
0.6110
0.7110
0.8110
0.9110
1.0110
1.289
1.459
Lowest steady airflow (maker)
30 cfm
Highest airflow (maker)
110 cfm

Heat and moisture recovery

Sensible recovery (SRE) is the share of heat kept in winter, after the fan’s own heat is taken out; total recovery (TRE) counts moisture too, in summer.

OutdoorsAirflowRecoveryFan powercfm per watt
32°F (0°C)36 cfm88% SRE21 W1.7
32°F (0°C)64 cfm83% SRE33 W1.9
32°F (0°C)110 cfm75% SRE62 W1.7
95°F (35°C), cooling36 cfm82% TRE22 W–
95°F (35°C), cooling64 cfm76% TRE34 W–
95°F (35°C), cooling110 cfm64% TRE64 W–
  • Plain fact: Keeps 75–88% of the heat at 32°FAcross the airflows HVI tested.
  • Not stated by the maker: No very-cold (−13°F) test in the HVI directory
  • Plain fact: Total recovery in summer: 64–82% at 95°FThe share of heat and moisture kept out on a hot, humid day.

HRV or ERV: which fits your home?

Turning up on CO2

A CO2 control can switch it to a higher speed when the bedroom needs air, then back. HouseExhale’s setting: up at 750 ppm, back at 650, never above 800.

  • Not stated by the maker: No Panasonic CO2 control; it has a dry-contact boost inputTerminals BST and GND. Panasonic doesn’t say whether boost holds while the contact stays closed.

What Panasonic documents

  • Not stated by the maker: No Panasonic CO2 controlIts Swidget smart controls can boost on their own sensors’ readings, but those list VOCs and air quality, not true CO2.
  • In its favour: Intelli-Balance Elite and BalancedHome: a dry-contact boost inputTerminals BST and GND; up to two boost switches. The manual doesn’t say if boost holds while closed.
  • Worth knowing: Intelli-Balance 100 (FV-10VEC2): its boost switch is 120 VA low-voltage CO2 relay isn’t made for that. Ask an electrician.
  • Plain fact: The Swidget Wi-Fi module can schedule boostFor the Elite and BalancedHome models.

Four ways to make it turn up by itself

  • A night scheduleDocumented

    Swidget’s Wi-Fi module schedules boost on Elite and BalancedHome models.

  • A CO2 control on its high-speed inputAsk your installer

    Elite and BalancedHome take a dry contact on BST. The Intelli-Balance 100’s boost is 120 V: an electrician’s job.

  • Your monitor and a smart-home relayAsk your maker first

    A dry-contact relay on BST, on Elite and BalancedHome models only. Not documented by Panasonic.

  • Its maker’s CO2 controlNot for this unit

    Panasonic doesn’t make a CO2 control.

How to add CO₂ control to an HRV or ERV · CO₂ controls

Installing it

The maker’s facts an installer plans around. Your installer confirms them for your home.

Power
120 V, 60 Hz. Uses at most 64 W at 110 CFM and 0.2 in. w.g. Ships with an attached plug-in cord, and a hard-wire adapter kit is in the box (wire nuts not supplied). Amps are not stated.
Duct connections
Four built-in 6 in duct adapters (two exhaust, two supply); insulated 6 in duct is recommended for the outdoor-air and exhaust runs. A removable damper lets the same unit be installed mirror-image (left/right swapped). Port positions are not described in words.
Size
Retailers disagree and Panasonic gives no labelled size. Ferguson: 20 1/2 in wide x 10 in high x 28.63 in deep. Total Home Supply: 10 in wide x 22 5/8 in deep x 20 1/2 in high. Panasonic's submittal drawing shows 28 5/8 in, 20 1/2 in, 12 7/8 in and 5 3/4 in without saying which is which.Scope: retailer listings; the second figure is from https://www.totalhomesupply.com/p/panasonic-fv-11es1-intelli-balance-elite-110-temperate-climate-energy-recovery-ventilator-erv-110-cfm-adjustable-fan-merv13-filter
Weight
51 lb (retailer listing; no Panasonic document opened states the weight)
Mounting
Wall, ceiling, floor, or hung on chains (chains not included). On a wall it screws to studs with L-plates. On a ceiling it hangs level from joists on chains rated for at least 66 lb. On the floor you rotate the return-air shutter and fit the interface cover.Scope: installation details from IOM 15ESC1450 (covers FV-15ESC1/12ESC1/14ES1/11ES1)
Drain line
Not stated in the sources we found
Cold weather
Temperate-climate model. Its built-in frost prevention works by pausing: below 14°F (-10°C) the outside damper closes and the unit goes into standby to keep the core from freezing. It runs 4 minutes each hour to check the outdoor temperature. Panasonic recommends it only where temperatures rarely drop below 14°F.
Balancing the airflow
SmartFlow static-pressure compensation; digital multi-speed presets
Ducts
Standalone or with central HVAC
In the box
The unit with an attached power cord, two MERV 13 filters, a hard-wire adapter kit and cover, mounting brackets (wall/chain/floor), L-plates, screws (8 M4x8, 4 long ST4.2x30), an interface cover, the installation instructions and a warranty sheet. Chains are not included.Scope: box-contents table was partly garbled; filters and brackets confirmed by the sell sheet IAQ25169SS R13

Controls

  • Comes with: Digital control panel on the unit (main switch, mode button, +/- buttons, filter reset, display). Supply and exhaust airflow are each set from 30 to 110 CFM, with a built-in ASHRAE 62.2 run timer and a fault-indicator function.
  • Wall controls sold: FV-SCVE2 touch-screen wall control (needed to set the low-speed airflow; meets California's fault-indicator rule); FV-SWLV1060 WhisperControl low-voltage boost timer (10/20/40/60 min); WP100PBA Swidget Wi-Fi module.
  • Boost: Boost runs the fans at the boost setting (up to 110 CFM) while a boost switch is on. Up to two boost switches: a dry contact or the FV-SWLV1060 timer. The manual doesn't say whether a held contact or a momentary press is expected.
  • App or smart home: Optional WP100PBA Swidget Wi-Fi module with the Swidget app: status, filter and maintenance alerts, on/off, timer and fan speed.
  • High-speed input: Terminal block 12V, STB (standby), BST (boost), GND. A dry contact on BST gives boost, and a dry contact on standby puts the unit in standby and closes the outside damper. The unit can also turn on an air handler while it runs.
Scope: terminal names are from research/co2-control-2026-10/brands-panasonic-fantech-renewaire-zehnder-other.md (Panasonic section, same IOM); standby and air-handler notes from the sell sheet; app features from https://iaq.na.panasonic.com/smart-controls/swidget/wi-fi-control-module
Humidity control
Not confirmed
Bathroom boost
Documented
Works without the internet
Documented

Owning it

Equipment price
  • $985.99 at SupplyHouse, October 17, 2026One price shown, not marked as a sale; in stock (131 units).
  • $1,022.99 at Total Home Supply, October 17, 2026One price shown; the page says both 'Out Stock' and 'In Stock'.
Rebates
Federal tax credits ended for work after 2025. Some states and utilities still pay toward an HRV or ERV: rebates by state.
Filters
  • Type: Two filters, one on the return side and one on the supply side
  • MERV: MERV 13 included; washable MERV 6 optional
  • Part: FV-FL1315ES1 (MERV 13 replacement); FV-FL0615ES1 (washable MERV 6, sold separately)
  • How often: Vacuum both filters every 2-3 months. Inspect the supply filter every 90 days and replace it when dirty (the manual says every 6 months). The filter light and a once-an-hour beep start after 90 days of run time.
Warranty
  • Parts: 3 years from the original purchase date for all other parts
  • Motor: 6 years from the original purchase date on the ECM motors
  • Conditions: The IOM warns not to use non-approved control devices. A warranty sheet ships in the box, but its text wasn't in the sources opened.
Sound
Not stated in the sources we found
Availability
Active (Panasonic lists it on its current Intelli-Balance pages; launched Sept 25, 2025; SupplyHouse says it replaces FV-10VE2H and FV-10VE2)

Panasonic’s page for the FV-11ES1 (opens in a new tab)

Not known yet

What we couldn’t confirm from the maker or HVI. Ask the installer, and get it in writing with the quote.

  • How loud it is

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

  • Filter count: the submittal says 'MERV 13 filter included' (singular), but the sell sheet, Panasonic Canada page and Ferguson say two MERV 13 filters. SupplyHouse lists 'MERV 6 and MERV 13' as the filter options.

Other sizes and similar units

Other ERVs with similar airflow

Compare them side by side All units

Sources

Certified airflow and efficiency from the HVI directory (exported September 23, 2026), joined to this exact model by its HVI number. The maker’s facts from our review of August 31, 2026 and our research of October 17, 2026. This is product information, not a design: your installer confirms the ducts, room-by-room airflow and controls, then measures the airflow after install.

Thinking about a system?

Measure your bedrooms first. When installers quote, the app checks the exact unit they propose, this one or any HVI-certified unit, against what your bedrooms need.