ERVVenmar AI SeriesHVI 2005175
Venmar AI Series V210E75RS
Energy recovery ventilator (ERV). Moves heat and some moisture between the outgoing and incoming air, so dry winter air keeps more of the home’s humidity and humid summer air brings in less.
- ENERGY STAR (Canada)
- Fresh air in, from outside
- Fresh air out, to the rooms
- Stale air in, from the rooms
- Stale air out, to outside
Our drawing, measured from Broan-NuTone / Venmar spec sheet V210E75RS, "6" Ports Dimensions" (page 2) to about half an inch: 21 7/8 in wide (27 1/8 in across the collars), 19 1/2 in high, 21 in deep; 6 in collars. The numbers are ours, the same on every unit.
- 201 cfmFresh air at 0.5 in. of duct pressure
- 206 cfmAt 0.4 in., HVI’s rating point
- 72–81%Heat recovery at 32°F (SRE)
- 28–147 WFan power at 32°F
At a glance
- In its favour: HVI-certified (HVI 2005175)Its airflow and efficiency were tested to the Home Ventilating Institute’s standard.
- Plain fact: 206 cfm at 0.4 in., 201 cfm at 0.5 in. of duct pressureCertified fresh air delivered, at HVI’s headline rating point and at the higher pressure many real ducts run at.
- Not stated by the maker: No true CO2 control from VenmarOn AI series units, OVR and 12V take a dry contact; whether it holds high speed while closed isn’t stated, so have it tested. Not VENT: it drops the unit to standby when the contact opens.
- In its favour: Humidity control documented
- Plain fact: How it handles frost in very cold weatherRecirculation defrost (Homeshield), starting at 23 °F (-5 °C) and colder; the product page also says 'Recirculating'. Installer can choose standard (DIS) or extended (PLU) defrost.
- Worth knowing: Sold in Canada onlyCheck it’s available where you live.
Certifications
HVI certified
HVI 2005175
The Home Ventilating Institute tested its airflow and heat recovery. The certified numbers on this page come from its directory. Find HVI 2005175 in HVI’s directory
ENERGY STAR (Canada)
Listed as V210E75RS
On Natural Resources Canada’s ENERGY STAR list for HRVs and ERVs, which sets minimums for heat recovery in cold weather and for fan power. ENERGY STAR certifies HRVs and ERVs only in Canada. NRCan’s ENERGY STAR list (search the model number) (checked October 19, 2026)
Would it cover your home?
Tell it who sleeps in each bedroom. It’s checked against the 800 ppm goal the same way the app checks a unit an installer quotes.
Certified airflow
How much fresh air it delivers as the ducts push back. More duct pressure, less air: that’s why the installer’s duct design matters as much as the unit.
Every certified point
| Duct pressure (in. w.g.) | Fresh air delivered (cfm) |
|---|---|
| 0.0 | 216 |
| 0.1 | 214 |
| 0.2 | 210 |
| 0.3 | 208 |
| 0.4 | 206 |
| 0.5 | 201 |
| 0.6 | 199 |
| 0.7 | 195 |
| 0.8 | 191 |
| 0.9 | 189 |
| 1.0 | 184 |
| 1.1 | 180 |
| 1.2 | 176 |
- Lowest steady airflow (maker)
- Not stated in the review’s sources
- Highest airflow (maker)
- Not stated in the review’s sources
Heat and moisture recovery
Sensible recovery (SRE) is the share of heat kept in winter, after the fan’s own heat is taken out; total recovery (TRE) counts moisture too, in summer.
| Outdoors | Airflow | Recovery | Fan power | cfm per watt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 32°F (0°C) | 64 cfm | 81% SRE | 28 W | – |
| 32°F (0°C) | 81 cfm | 78% SRE | 37 W | – |
| 32°F (0°C) | 161 cfm | 72% SRE | 147 W | – |
| -13°F (-25°C) | 83 cfm | 65% SRE | 75 W | – |
| 95°F (35°C), cooling | 66 cfm | 67% TRE | 31 W | – |
| 95°F (35°C), cooling | 81 cfm | 64% TRE | 38 W | – |
| 95°F (35°C), cooling | 161 cfm | 52% TRE | 155 W | – |
- Plain fact: Keeps 72–81% of the heat at 32°FAcross the airflows HVI tested.
- In its favour: Tested at −13°F too: 65% SREHVI’s very-cold test point, useful in cold climates.
- Plain fact: Total recovery in summer: 52–67% at 95°FThe share of heat and moisture kept out on a hot, humid day.
Turning up on CO2
A CO2 control can switch it to a higher speed when the bedroom needs air, then back. HouseExhale’s setting: up at 750 ppm, back at 650, never above 800.
- Not stated by the maker: No true CO2 control from VenmarOn AI series units, OVR and 12V take a dry contact; whether it holds high speed while closed isn’t stated, so have it tested. Not VENT: it drops the unit to standby when the contact opens.
What Broan, Venmar or vänEE documents
- Not stated by the maker: No true CO2 control for its HRVs and ERVsIts wall controls go by humidity and outdoor temperature. Overture says it ventilates on CO2, but publishes no sensor type or levels; one spec lists eCO2.
- Worth knowing: AI series: not the VENT inputA contact there runs the unit only while closed. Open, it drops to standby, so ventilation would stop whenever CO2 is low.
- Plain fact: AI series: OVR and 12V take “any dry contact”Meant for a crank timer. Broan doesn’t say whether it holds high while closed: have it tested.
- Worth knowing: Never put 24 V on the AI’s 6-terminal blockBroan says it can permanently damage the control board. The relay must be voltage-free.
- Plain fact: Older models: joining OL and OC gives high speedBroan’s own push buttons run 20 to 60 minutes; how a held contact behaves isn’t stated.
Four ways to make it turn up by itself
A night scheduleDocumented
The VTTOUCHW and VT8W wall controls can be scheduled.
Its maker’s CO2 controlAsk your maker first
Overture says it ventilates on CO2, but its sensor and levels aren’t published. Ask before relying on it for 750.
A CO2 control on its high-speed inputAsk your maker first
On AI units, OVR and 12V take a dry contact, never VENT. Whether it holds high is untested: your installer checks.
Your monitor and a smart-home relayAsk your maker first
A voltage-free relay on OVR and 12V. Not documented by Broan.
Installing it
The maker’s facts an installer plans around. Your installer confirms them for your home.
- Power
- 120 V, 60 Hz, 3.6 A, 270 W. Plugs in: 6 ft cord with a 3-prong grounded plug (no extension cords).
- Duct connections
- 6-inch round collars, four ports (stale air from the house, fresh air to the house, exhaust to outside, fresh air from outside), on the side.
- Size
- 19.5 H × 27.125 W × 21 L (the page gives no units; inches by context).
- Weight
- About 47 lb (21.4 kg) assembled with core; about 55 lb (25 kg) shipping.
- Mounting
- Hung from joists on the included chains, or wall-mounted on 2 or 4 included universal brackets. Within 1/4 in. of level; keep 3 in. clear on the electrical-box side; space between 50 °F and 149 °F.
- Drain line
- No drain line needed. The manual says only HRV models need one (the spec-sheet drawing shows a drain spot without saying it is required).
- Cold weather
- Recirculation defrost (Homeshield), starting at 23 °F (-5 °C) and colder; the product page also says 'Recirculating'. Installer can choose standard (DIS) or extended (PLU) defrost.
- Balancing the airflow
- Virtuo constant-airflow auto-balancing
- Ducts
- Dedicated or selected central-HVAC integrations per manual
- In the box
- Core, washable MERV 8 filter (plus exhaust filter), hanging chains, universal brackets and screws, terminal connector for a wall control, 6 ft power cord.
Controls
- Comes with: No wall control ships with the unit. It has a built-in LCD screen for setting airflow, balancing and fault codes; a wall control is optional.
- Wall controls sold: VTTOUCHW Advanced Touchscreen (main): SMART, continuous, intermittent, recirculation (where offered), TURBO, AWAY, weekly schedule, humidity setting; VAUTOW Automatic (main): continuous MIN/MED/MAX, AUTO by outdoor temperature, intermittent, TURBO; VTSPEEDW Speed Selector (main): continuous 30–100 % speed, intermittent, TURBO; VTDEHUMW Dehumidistat (main): built-in humidity sensor, 30–55 % RH; VBATHW 20-40-60 (auxiliary, wired): runs MAX for 20, 40 or 60 minutes; VBATHBTW 20-40-60 Deluxe (auxiliary, 2 AAA batteries, pairs by Bluetooth with VTTOUCHW only; also boosts when it senses a humidity rise)
- Boost: Timed: VBATHW / VBATHBTW give 20, 40 or 60 minutes at MAX; TURBO on the main controls runs MAX for 4 hours, then returns to the previous mode. The 20-40-60 override can be set to stay balanced (BAL), push more exhaust (PER) or keep distribution constant (DIS).
- App or smart home: None. No app or Wi-Fi in any AI Series document opened.
- High-speed input: Two dry-contact inputs. VENT (terminal block J13): held input. Closed runs the mode chosen in the DRY menu (MIN, INT, AUT or MAX); opening it puts the unit in Standby; it overrides the main wall control. OVR + 12V on the 6-position block: for the 20-40-60 control or a crank timer / any dry contact. Never put 24 VAC on the 6-position block.
- Spec sheet list: The V210E75RS spec sheet lists VAUTOW, VTDEHUMW, VTTOUCHW, VBATHW, VBATHBTW and VBATHDW (humidity-sensing boost) among its wall controls; the manual also allows a crank timer or a furnace thermostat's ventilation output.
- Humidity control
- Documented
- Bathroom boost
- Documented
- Works without the internet
- Documented
Owning it
- Equipment price
- Not stated in the sources we found
- Rebates
- Federal tax credits ended for work after 2025. Some states and utilities still pay toward an HRV or ERV: rebates by state.
- Filters
- Type: Washable, reusable MERV 8 filter included; optional MERV 13 upgrade
- MERV: 8 standard; 13 optional
- Part: MERV 8 filter kit SV68020 (manual); MERV 13 printed 'V243001' on the spec sheet
- How often: Clean filters every 3 months; clean the core and blowers once a year in the fall
- Warranty
- Core: 5 years (ERV core)
- Parts: 5 years
- Labor: Not covered
- Conditions: Original bill of purchase required; parts coverage depends on following the core maintenance; genuine replacement parts required; excludes poor installation, misuse and negligence.
- Sound
- Not stated in the sources we found
- Availability
- Region-limited (Canada): listed on Broan-NuTone Canada with no discontinued notice. No US retailer listing found; vänEE's own page refused automated reading.
Not known yet
What we couldn’t confirm from the maker or HVI. Ask the installer, and get it in writing with the quote.
- The lowest airflow it can run at steadily
- Whether a CO2 control from another maker is supported
- A current equipment price
- How loud it is
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
- Certification: the V210E75RS page says ENERGY STAR certified; the US twin B210E75RS page says ENERGY STAR 'No'.
- Dimension conflict with the US twin: B210E75RS page says 20.8 × 24.8 × 21; this page says 19.5 × 27.125 × 21 (matching Broan's AI brochure figure for side-port large units).
Other sizes and similar units
Other Venmar AI Series sizes
Venmar AI Series V150E75NS
ERV · HVI 2005177
125 cfm at 0.5 in.
Other ERVs with similar airflow

Zehnder ComfoAir Q350 ERV
ERV · HVI 2005163
201 cfm at 0.5 in.
Panasonic BalancedHome Elite Plus+ 210 (FV-21VEC1S)
ERV · HVI 2005488
210 cfm at 0.5 in.

RenewAire EV Premium M
ERV · HVI 2004872
210 cfm at 0.5 in.
Sources
- Home Ventilating Institute: Section III HRV/ERV complete product listing
- Home Ventilating Institute: Section III HRV/ERV airflow ratings
- Home Ventilating Institute: Section III HRV/ERV energy ratings
- Venmar / Broan-NuTone Canada: V150E75NS AI Series ERV
- Natural Resources Canada: ENERGY STAR heat/energy recovery ventilators: searchable product list (216 models on October 19, 2026)
- Broan-NuTone / Venmar Ventilation ULC, Energy Recovery Ventilator – 210 CFM (spec sheet V210E75RS, English/French, 1108468D)
- Venmar / vänEE, User and Installer Manual, V180/V210/V230 units (1107074WEB rev. F)
- V210E75RS Broan-NuTone: Broan AI Series ERV 210 CFM 81% SRE with Side Ports
- Broan, AI Series Wall Controls catalog (AMd210322D)
- Broan-NuTone: AI series user and installer manual (23832)
- Broan-NuTone: large AI units manual (1107081)
- Broan-NuTone: HRV150S/HRV190S/ERV180S installation guide
- Broan-NuTone: Overture Smart Plug manual
- HomeControls: Overture wall control specifications (lists eCO2)
Certified airflow and efficiency from the HVI directory (exported September 23, 2026), joined to this exact model by its HVI number. The maker’s facts from our review of August 31, 2026 and our research of October 17, 2026. This is product information, not a design: your installer confirms the ducts, room-by-room airflow and controls, then measures the airflow after install.
Thinking about a system?
Measure your bedrooms first. When installers quote, the app checks the exact unit they propose, this one or any HVI-certified unit, against what your bedrooms need.