ERVPanasonic BalancedHome Elite Plus+ 210HVI 2005488
Panasonic BalancedHome Elite Plus+ 210 (FV-21VEC1S)
Energy recovery ventilator (ERV). Moves heat and some moisture between the outgoing and incoming air, so dry winter air keeps more of the home’s humidity and humid summer air brings in less.
- ENERGY STAR (Canada)
About $1,649Equipment only, at SupplyHouse, October 2026. Installed cost is more.
- Fresh air in, from outside
- Fresh air out, to the rooms
- Stale air in, from the rooms
- Stale air out, to outside
Our drawing, measured from Panasonic BalancedHome 210 Elite Plus submittal IAQ26007ST (page 1) to about half an inch: 24 13/16 in wide, 19 1/2 in high, 21 in deep; four 5 13/16 in collars, two on each side. The numbers are ours, the same on every unit.
- 210 cfmFresh air at 0.5 in. of duct pressure
- 210 cfmAt 0.4 in., HVI’s rating point
- 74–83%Heat recovery at 32°F (SRE)
- 21–115 WFan power at 32°F
At a glance
- In its favour: HVI-certified (HVI 2005488)Its airflow and efficiency were tested to the Home Ventilating Institute’s standard.
- Plain fact: 210 cfm at 0.4 in., 210 cfm at 0.5 in. of duct pressureCertified fresh air delivered, at HVI’s headline rating point and at the higher pressure many real ducts run at.
- Not stated by the maker: No Panasonic CO2 control, and no input for an outside control documentedBoost comes from a manual boost switch or Panasonic’s FV-SWLV1060 timer (10 to 60 minutes). Ask Panasonic whether a CO2 relay can be wired to it.
- Plain fact: How it handles frost in very cold weatherBuilt-in frost prevention with two preset choices: recirculation (Elite Plus models) or exhaust-only. Below freezing the unit recirculates or exhausts air according to the setting. No starting temperature is stated. Panasonic says it is engineered for any North American climate zone.
Certifications
HVI certified
HVI 2005488
The Home Ventilating Institute tested its airflow and heat recovery. The certified numbers on this page come from its directory. Find HVI 2005488 in HVI’s directory
ENERGY STAR (Canada)
Listed as FV-21VEC1S
On Natural Resources Canada’s ENERGY STAR list for HRVs and ERVs, which sets minimums for heat recovery in cold weather and for fan power. ENERGY STAR certifies HRVs and ERVs only in Canada. NRCan’s ENERGY STAR list (search the model number) (checked October 19, 2026)
Would it cover your home?
Tell it who sleeps in each bedroom. It’s checked against the 800 ppm goal the same way the app checks a unit an installer quotes.
Certified airflow
How much fresh air it delivers as the ducts push back. More duct pressure, less air: that’s why the installer’s duct design matters as much as the unit.
Every certified point
| Duct pressure (in. w.g.) | Fresh air delivered (cfm) |
|---|---|
| 0.1 | 210 |
| 0.2 | 210 |
| 0.3 | 210 |
| 0.4 | 210 |
| 0.5 | 210 |
| 0.6 | 210 |
| 0.7 | 203 |
| 0.8 | 189 |
| 0.9 | 167 |
| 1.0 | 144 |
| 1.2 | 81 |
| 1.3 | 42 |
- Lowest steady airflow (maker)
- 40 cfm
- Highest airflow (maker)
- 210 cfm
Heat and moisture recovery
Sensible recovery (SRE) is the share of heat kept in winter, after the fan’s own heat is taken out; total recovery (TRE) counts moisture too, in summer.
| Outdoors | Airflow | Recovery | Fan power | cfm per watt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 32°F (0°C) | 42 cfm | 83% SRE | 21 W | 2 |
| 32°F (0°C) | 66 cfm | 81% SRE | 28 W | 2.3 |
| 32°F (0°C) | 81 cfm | 80% SRE | 35 W | 2.3 |
| 32°F (0°C) | 163 cfm | 74% SRE | 115 W | 1.4 |
| -13°F (-25°C) | 61 cfm | 67% SRE | 58 W | 1 |
| -13°F (-25°C) | 70 cfm | 58% SRE | 76 W | 0.9 |
| 95°F (35°C), cooling | 68 cfm | 74% TRE | 30 W | – |
| 95°F (35°C), cooling | 83 cfm | 72% TRE | 37 W | – |
| 95°F (35°C), cooling | 161 cfm | 61% TRE | 124 W | – |
- Plain fact: Keeps 74–83% of the heat at 32°FAcross the airflows HVI tested.
- In its favour: Tested at −13°F too: 58–67% SREHVI’s very-cold test point, useful in cold climates.
- Plain fact: Total recovery in summer: 61–74% at 95°FThe share of heat and moisture kept out on a hot, humid day.
Turning up on CO2
A CO2 control can switch it to a higher speed when the bedroom needs air, then back. HouseExhale’s setting: up at 750 ppm, back at 650, never above 800.
- Not stated by the maker: No Panasonic CO2 control, and no input for an outside control documentedBoost comes from a manual boost switch or Panasonic’s FV-SWLV1060 timer (10 to 60 minutes). Ask Panasonic whether a CO2 relay can be wired to it.
What Panasonic documents
- Not stated by the maker: No Panasonic CO2 controlIts Swidget smart controls can boost on their own sensors’ readings, but those list VOCs and air quality, not true CO2.
- In its favour: Intelli-Balance Elite and BalancedHome: a dry-contact boost inputTerminals BST and GND; up to two boost switches. The manual doesn’t say if boost holds while closed.
- Worth knowing: Intelli-Balance 100 (FV-10VEC2): its boost switch is 120 VA low-voltage CO2 relay isn’t made for that. Ask an electrician.
- Plain fact: The Swidget Wi-Fi module can schedule boostFor the Elite and BalancedHome models.
Four ways to make it turn up by itself
A night scheduleDocumented
Swidget’s Wi-Fi module schedules boost on Elite and BalancedHome models.
A CO2 control on its high-speed inputAsk your installer
Elite and BalancedHome take a dry contact on BST. The Intelli-Balance 100’s boost is 120 V: an electrician’s job.
Your monitor and a smart-home relayAsk your maker first
A dry-contact relay on BST, on Elite and BalancedHome models only. Not documented by Panasonic.
Its maker’s CO2 controlNot for this unit
Panasonic doesn’t make a CO2 control.
Installing it
The maker’s facts an installer plans around. Your installer confirms them for your home.
- Power
- 120 V, 60 Hz, 3.1 A. Uses no more than 115 W at 163 CFM and 0.2 in. w.g. Ships with a standard plug-in cord, and a hard-wire conversion kit is included.
- Duct connections
- Four built-in 6 in duct adapters (two exhaust, two supply) on the sides, pointing horizontally, for outdoor air, exhaust, supply and return. Ducts must be at least 6 in.
- Size
- Not stated in the sources we found
- Weight
- Not stated in the sources we found
- Mounting
- Ceiling or wall with the included brackets, or hung on chains. Panasonic Canada and the sell sheet say the chains are sold separately; the submittal says chain and wall mounts with pre-drilled brackets are included (see notes).
- Drain line
- Not stated in the sources we found
- Cold weather
- Built-in frost prevention with two preset choices: recirculation (Elite Plus models) or exhaust-only. Below freezing the unit recirculates or exhausts air according to the setting. No starting temperature is stated. Panasonic says it is engineered for any North American climate zone.
- Balancing the airflow
- SmartFlow static-pressure compensation; digital presets
- Ducts
- Dedicated or central-HVAC per manual
- In the box
- The unit with a power cord, a MERV 13 filter (FV-FL1321VE1), a hard-wire adapter kit, and wall-mount brackets. The submittal also lists chain mounts; Panasonic's page says chains are sold separately.
Controls
- Comes with: LED display with separate supply and exhaust speed selectors (40-210 CFM), a built-in ASHRAE 62.2 run timer, and a fault indicator (CEC certified).
- Wall controls sold: FV-SCVE2 touch-screen wall control / fault display; FV-SWLV1060 WhisperControl low-voltage boost timer (10/20/40/60 min); WP100PBA Swidget Wi-Fi module.
- Boost: Occupant boost up to 210 CFM, from an optional manual boost switch or the FV-SWLV1060 countdown timer.
- App or smart home: Optional WP100PBA Swidget Wi-Fi module with the Swidget app: status, filter and maintenance alerts, on/off, timer and fan speed.
- Humidity control
- Not confirmed
- Bathroom boost
- Documented
- Works without the internet
- Documented
Owning it
- Equipment price
- $1,648.98 at SupplyHouse, October 17, 2026One price shown, not marked as a sale; in stock (21 units). Wall control sold separately.
- Rebates
- Federal tax credits ended for work after 2025. Some states and utilities still pay toward an HRV or ERV: rebates by state.
- Filters
- Type: Two filters: supply (outdoor air) and return air
- MERV: MERV 13 included; washable MERV 6 available
- Part: FV-FL1321VE1 (MERV 13); FV-FL0621VE1 (washable MERV 6)
- How often: Vacuum every 2-3 months or as needed. Inspect the supply filter every 90 days and replace it every 6 months. Visual and audible reminders start after 90 days of run time.
- Warranty
- Parts: 3 years from the original purchase date for all other parts
- Motor: 6 years from the original purchase date on the ECM motors
- Sound
- Not stated in the sources we found
- Availability
- Active (Panasonic Canada lists the side-port FV-21VEC1S; Panasonic US now shows only the top-port FV-21VEC1T; in stock at SupplyHouse; not on Panasonic's Discontinued Models list)
Not known yet
What we couldn’t confirm from the maker or HVI. Ask the installer, and get it in writing with the quote.
- How it protects itself from frost in very cold weather
- A CO2 control documented for this exact model
- Its size
- How loud it is
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
- Chains: submittal IAQ26007ST says chain mounts are included; the Panasonic Canada page ('suspended by chains (sold separately)') and the sell sheet ('Chain suspension kit: sold separately') say otherwise.
Other sizes and similar units
Other ERVs with similar airflow

RenewAire EV Premium M
ERV · HVI 2004872
210 cfm at 0.5 in.
S&P TReN200
ERV · HVI 2005459
210 cfm at 0.5 in.
Broan AI Series B210E75RS
ERV · HVI 2004939
201 cfm at 0.5 in.
Sources
- Home Ventilating Institute: Section III HRV/ERV complete product listing
- Home Ventilating Institute: Section III HRV/ERV airflow ratings
- Home Ventilating Institute: Section III HRV/ERV energy ratings
- Panasonic: BalancedHome Elite Plus 210 ERV
- Natural Resources Canada: ENERGY STAR heat/energy recovery ventilators: searchable product list (216 models on October 19, 2026)
- Specification Submittal Data: BalancedHome® 210 Elite Plus (FV-21VEC1S), IAQ26007ST
- BalancedHome® Energy Recovery Ventilators sell sheet, IAQ26032SS R3 (May 2025 file)
- BalancedHome 210 Installation Manual, English and French (Panasonic FTP; not opened)
- FV-21VEC1T Service Manual (Panasonic FTP; top-port twin; not opened)
- Architectural Specifications, BalancedHome 210 Elite Plus (Panasonic Canada; not opened, permission not answered)
- Panasonic BalancedHome 210 ERV (FV-21VEC1S) side port
- Panasonic BalancedHome 210 Elite ERV, Side Port, FV-21VEC1S (SupplyHouse)
- Panasonic: Intelli-Balance Elite manual (Jun 2025)
- Panasonic: BalancedHome manual (Feb 2025)
- Panasonic: Intelli-Balance 100 (FV-10VEC2) manual (Jan 2024)
- Panasonic: ERV FAQs
- Swidget: which ERV actions can be automated or scheduled
Certified airflow and efficiency from the HVI directory (exported September 23, 2026), joined to this exact model by its HVI number. The maker’s facts from our review of August 31, 2026 and our research of October 17, 2026. This is product information, not a design: your installer confirms the ducts, room-by-room airflow and controls, then measures the airflow after install.
Thinking about a system?
Measure your bedrooms first. When installers quote, the app checks the exact unit they propose, this one or any HVI-certified unit, against what your bedrooms need.