ERVRenewAire EV PremiumHVI 2004872

RenewAire EV Premium M

Energy recovery ventilator (ERV). Moves heat and some moisture between the outgoing and incoming air, so dry winter air keeps more of the home’s humidity and humid summer air brings in less.

About $1,415Equipment only, at ERV Direct on sale, October 2026. Installed cost is more.

RenewAire EV Premium M energy recovery ventilator with its front panel open, showing the square recovery core inside

Photo: RenewAire

At a glance

  • In its favour: HVI-certified (HVI 2004872)Its airflow and efficiency were tested to the Home Ventilating Institute’s standard.
  • Plain fact: 218 cfm at 0.4 in., 210 cfm at 0.5 in. of duct pressureCertified fresh air delivered, at HVI’s headline rating point and at the higher pressure many real ducts run at.
  • In its favour: RenewAire’s own CO2 control (CO2-W or CO2-D) is documented for the EV PremiumIt runs the unit on high above its trip point, which can be set from 500 to 1,500 ppm. Set it to 750.
  • In its favour: Humidity control documented
  • Plain fact: How it handles frost in very cold weatherNo defrost cycle. The brochure says there is no need for frost protection. RenewAire's frost policy says its plate cores work without condensing or frosting when it is warmer than -10°F outside and indoor humidity is below 40%. For colder or more humid conditions RenewAire points to standard defrost methods, and it sells an optional RH series electric duct heater (1-6 kW for this model, for indoor ductwork only).

Certifications

  • HVI certified

    HVI 2004872

    The Home Ventilating Institute tested its airflow and heat recovery. The certified numbers on this page come from its directory. Find HVI 2004872 in HVI’s directory

  • ENERGY STAR (Canada)

    Not on the list

    Not on Natural Resources Canada’s ENERGY STAR list when we checked. ENERGY STAR certifies HRVs and ERVs only in Canada, so a unit sold in the U.S. may never have been submitted; that isn’t a sign it’s less efficient. Its HVI numbers show its heat recovery and fan power. NRCan’s ENERGY STAR list (checked October 19, 2026)

Would it cover your home?

Tell it who sleeps in each bedroom. It’s checked against the 800 ppm goal the same way the app checks a unit an installer quotes.

Loading the check…

Certified airflow

How much fresh air it delivers as the ducts push back. More duct pressure, less air: that’s why the installer’s duct design matters as much as the unit.

0501001502002503000.00.20.40.60.81.0Duct pressure (in. w.g.) →cfm218 cfm210 cfm
Certified net supply airflow from the HVI directory, at each tested duct pressure. The shaded band is 0.4 to 0.5 in.: HVI’s headline rating point, and the higher pressure HouseExhale also checks because many real duct systems run above their design.
Every certified point
Duct pressure (in. w.g.)Fresh air delivered (cfm)
0.1242
0.2233
0.3227
0.4218
0.5210
0.6203
0.7195
0.8186
0.9180
1.0172
Lowest steady airflow (maker)
30 cfm
Highest airflow (maker)
230 cfm

Heat and moisture recovery

Sensible recovery (SRE) is the share of heat kept in winter, after the fan’s own heat is taken out; total recovery (TRE) counts moisture too, in summer.

OutdoorsAirflowRecoveryFan powercfm per watt
32°F (0°C)51 cfm81% SRE19 W2.6
32°F (0°C)102 cfm73% SRE40 W2.5
32°F (0°C)150 cfm68% SRE81 W1.8
32°F (0°C)203 cfm62% SRE177 W1.1
95°F (35°C), cooling51 cfm77% TRE20 W–
  • Plain fact: Keeps 62–81% of the heat at 32°FAcross the airflows HVI tested.
  • Not stated by the maker: No very-cold (−13°F) test in the HVI directory
  • Plain fact: Total recovery in summer: 77% at 95°FThe share of heat and moisture kept out on a hot, humid day.

HRV or ERV: which fits your home?

Turning up on CO2

A CO2 control can switch it to a higher speed when the bedroom needs air, then back. HouseExhale’s setting: up at 750 ppm, back at 650, never above 800.

  • In its favour: RenewAire’s own CO2 control (CO2-W or CO2-D) is documented for the EV PremiumIt runs the unit on high above its trip point, which can be set from 500 to 1,500 ppm. Set it to 750.

Documented control setups for this unit

  • RenewAire CO2-W / CO2-DWorks directly with this system

    Switches to high speed. When any controller exceeds its setpoint, its normally-open relay closes and calls the EV Premium unit to high speed.

    Set it to 750 ppm.

    About the RenewAire CO2-W

What RenewAire documents

  • In its favour: Its own CO2 control: CO2-W (wall) or CO2-D (duct)A relay that runs the unit on high above its trip point. Documented for the EV90, EV130, EV200, EV Premium and EV Premium+.
  • In its favour: The trip point can be set from 500 to 1,500 ppmSo 750 is fine. The gap before it switches back can be 25 to 200 ppm. The factory setting isn’t published: check it.
  • Plain fact: EV Premium: a contact between 24VAC and HIGH runs it on highWhen CO2 drops it goes back to normal, or turns off if it was installed that way. Ask for normal.
  • Worth knowing: EV90 and EV130: unpowered controls onlyNever connect power to their control terminals. On these the contact may switch the unit on and off, not up: ask.

Four ways to make it turn up by itself

  • Its maker’s CO2 controlMade for it

    RenewAire’s CO2-W or CO2-D, set to switch at 750 ppm, with the unit staying on its normal speed below that.

  • A CO2 control on its high-speed inputAsk your installer

    Its HIGH terminal takes an external control; RenewAire’s own sensor is the documented one.

  • A night scheduleAsk your installer

    A timer on the HIGH input, or its touchscreen control on the EV Premium+.

  • Your monitor and a smart-home relayAsk your maker first

    A dry-contact relay on the same HIGH input. Not documented by RenewAire.

How to add CO₂ control to an HRV or ERV · CO₂ controls

Installing it

The maker’s facts an installer plans around. Your installer confirms them for your home.

Power
120 V, 60 Hz, single phase. Manual: 3.0 A for S, M and L. Submittal: 85 W for the whole unit, 1.22 A per motor, 15 A circuit. Comes with a 34 in plug-in cord and needs a grounded 120 V outlet nearby; the EV Premium MH version is hard-wired instead.
Duct connections
Four duct connections (outdoor air, exhaust, return, supply). The four duct connectors ship loose and the installer fits them; they take 6 in or 8 in round duct. Every duct run must be at least 40 in long. The documents don't say in words whether the ports are on the top or side.Scope: manual covers EV Premium S, M, L and their hard-wired H versions
Size
22 1/2 in long x 12 5/8 in wide x 23 3/4 in high. With hanging bracket: 25 1/2 in and 13 3/8 in overall.
Weight
36 lb (48 lb in its shipping carton, 32 x 22 x 18 in)
Mounting
Any position, as long as there is room to reach the controls and open the door at least 90 degrees. Horizontal is preferred so the hinged door swings down. Hangs from a bracket fixed across two wall studs (or anchored into concrete); the brochure lists ceiling or wall brackets.Scope: whole EV Premium series
Drain line
No drain is mentioned in the manual or submittal. RenewAire's brochure says the core has "No need for frost protection or condensate pans."Scope: brochure covers the whole EV Premium series
Cold weather
No defrost cycle. The brochure says there is no need for frost protection. RenewAire's frost policy says its plate cores work without condensing or frosting when it is warmer than -10°F outside and indoor humidity is below 40%. For colder or more humid conditions RenewAire points to standard defrost methods, and it sells an optional RH series electric duct heater (1-6 kW for this model, for indoor ductwork only).
Balancing the airflow
Manual airflow balancing; Dial-A-Flow variable speed
Ducts
Dedicated or integrated per IOM
In the box
The unit with a 34 in power cord (M version), two MERV 8 filters, a set of 4 duct connectors to fit on site, and a small parts bag with pre-cut foam tape. The drawing shows a hanging bracket. The installer supplies the screws.

Controls

  • Comes with: On-board Dial-A-Flow digital controller with separate dials for a low (continuous) speed and a high/boost speed. Out of the box the high speed is set to the top curve and the low speed to about 90 CFM. When plugged in it runs at low speed all the time.
  • Wall controls sold: PBT push-button boost timer; PTL percentage timer; FM percentage timer with furnace-fan interlock; PBL push-button point-of-use controls (up to six, used with a PBT or PTL); TC7D-W / TC7D-E digital time clock; MC-C / MC-W occupancy sensors; IAQ-W / IAQ-D air-quality (VOC) sensors; CO2-W / CO2-D CO2 sensors; BACNETFC-W BACnet fan control; low-voltage countdown and percentage timers (LVCT, LVPT). Only one master control (PTL, FM or PBT) can be used.
  • Boost: PBT runs the unit for 20, 40 or 60 minutes depending on how many presses. Any switch that connects the 24VAC and HIGH terminals runs high speed for as long as it stays closed.
  • App or smart home: None found in RenewAire documents.
  • High-speed input: Low-voltage terminal block: 24VAC, HIGH (boost), COM, DAMP. A held contact between 24VAC and HIGH gives boost.
Scope: part numbers from the EV Premium M submittal; manual covers the whole series
Humidity control
Documented
Bathroom boost
Documented
Works without the internet
Documented
CO2 inputs
BACnet, dry-contact input

Owning it

Equipment price
  • $1,415 at ERV Direct (on sale), October 17, 2026Compare-at price $1,886.00. Stock not stated. Same price the August 31 review saw. Equipment only; controls, dampers and the MERV 13 filter are sold separately.
Rebates
Federal tax credits ended for work after 2025. Some states and utilities still pay toward an HRV or ERV: rebates by state.
Filters
  • Type: One spun-polyester filter in the outdoor air and one in the return air (the manual calls them mesh-type anti-microbial filters). An optional pleated MERV 13 for the outdoor air side ships loose.
  • MERV: MERV 8 standard; MERV 13 optional (outdoor air side only)
  • Size: 10 1/2 x 10 1/2 x 1 in (two)
  • How often: Manual: replace both filters every 3 months, or more often if needed; don't clean them. Product page: inspect every 3 months and replace as needed.
Warranty
  • Core: 10-year structural and performance warranty on the plate core. The warranty statement says that in years 3 to 10 a defective core is repaired or replaced at no charge, labor not included.
  • Parts: Five years on residential products. The statement says five years from the date of manufacture, with defective parts repaired or replaced at RenewAire's option.
  • Motor: No separate motor warranty is stated.
  • Labor: Not covered ("THIS WARRANTY DOES NOT INCLUDE LABOR"); the installer's own warranty may cover it.
  • Conditions: The unit must be installed and run per RenewAire's instructions and maintained. Keep proof of the installation date; without it, coverage starts 30 days after manufacture. Online registration is not required. Report defects to a RenewAire dealer or contractor. Filters are excluded.
Scope: the warranty statement covers RenewAire ventilation equipment generally; the 10-year and 5-year terms are on the EV Premium M page
Sound
RenewAire publishes sound power (how much sound the unit gives off), not a sones rating, from its own tests (AHRI 230/260, ISO 9614). Cabinet: 47 dBA at 85 CFM, 56 dBA at 175 CFM, 59 dBA at 224 CFM. At a room supply outlet fed by 5 ft of insulated flex duct: 53, 57 and 60 dBA at 83, 168 and 204 CFM. At a room return fed by 5 ft of flex: 51, 60 and 64 dBA at 81, 156 and 195 CFM. With 1 m of hard duct the room figures are higher (62-73 dBA). These are not loudness at a set distance.
Availability
Active

RenewAire’s page for the EV Premium M (opens in a new tab)

Not known yet

What we couldn’t confirm from the maker or HVI. Ask the installer, and get it in writing with the quote.

Nothing we checked for is missing.

Other sizes and similar units

Other RenewAire EV Premium sizes

Other ERVs with similar airflow

Compare them side by side All units

Sources

Certified airflow and efficiency from the HVI directory (exported September 23, 2026), joined to this exact model by its HVI number. The maker’s facts from our review of August 31, 2026 and our research of October 17, 2026. This is product information, not a design: your installer confirms the ducts, room-by-room airflow and controls, then measures the airflow after install.

Thinking about a system?

Measure your bedrooms first. When installers quote, the app checks the exact unit they propose, this one or any HVI-certified unit, against what your bedrooms need.