ERVS&P TReNHVI 2005458

S&P TReN90

Energy recovery ventilator (ERV). Moves heat and some moisture between the outgoing and incoming air, so dry winter air keeps more of the home’s humidity and humid summer air brings in less.

No photo yet

No S&P document for this exact model was found, so it isn’t drawn.

At a glance

  • In its favour: HVI-certified (HVI 2005458)Its airflow and efficiency were tested to the Home Ventilating Institute’s standard.
  • Plain fact: 119 cfm at 0.4 in., 112 cfm at 0.5 in. of duct pressureCertified fresh air delivered, at HVI’s headline rating point and at the higher pressure many real ducts run at.
  • Not stated by the maker: No S&P CO2 control listed for this modelS&P lists its SCO2-W (600 to 2,000 ppm) for its TRC and TRPLe units. Ask S&P about this one.

Certifications

  • HVI certified

    HVI 2005458

    The Home Ventilating Institute tested its airflow and heat recovery. The certified numbers on this page come from its directory. Find HVI 2005458 in HVI’s directory

  • ENERGY STAR (Canada)

    Not on the list

    Not on Natural Resources Canada’s ENERGY STAR list when we checked. ENERGY STAR certifies HRVs and ERVs only in Canada, so a unit sold in the U.S. may never have been submitted; that isn’t a sign it’s less efficient. Its HVI numbers show its heat recovery and fan power. NRCan’s ENERGY STAR list (checked October 19, 2026)

Would it cover your home?

Tell it who sleeps in each bedroom. It’s checked against the 800 ppm goal the same way the app checks a unit an installer quotes.

Loading the check…

Certified airflow

How much fresh air it delivers as the ducts push back. More duct pressure, less air: that’s why the installer’s duct design matters as much as the unit.

0501001502000.00.20.40.60.81.0Duct pressure (in. w.g.) →cfm119 cfm112 cfm
Certified net supply airflow from the HVI directory, at each tested duct pressure. The shaded band is 0.4 to 0.5 in.: HVI’s headline rating point, and the higher pressure HouseExhale also checks because many real duct systems run above their design.
Every certified point
Duct pressure (in. w.g.)Fresh air delivered (cfm)
0.1138
0.2131
0.3125
0.4119
0.5112
0.6106
0.797
0.891
0.983
1.074
Lowest steady airflow (maker)
Not stated in the review’s sources
Highest airflow (maker)
Not stated in the review’s sources

Heat and moisture recovery

Sensible recovery (SRE) is the share of heat kept in winter, after the fan’s own heat is taken out; total recovery (TRE) counts moisture too, in summer.

OutdoorsAirflowRecoveryFan powercfm per watt
32°F (0°C)51 cfm74% SRE28 W1.8
32°F (0°C)76 cfm69% SRE48 W1.5
32°F (0°C)102 cfm66% SRE78 W1.3
95°F (35°C), cooling51 cfm60% TRE32 W–
  • Plain fact: Keeps 66–74% of the heat at 32°FAcross the airflows HVI tested.
  • Not stated by the maker: No very-cold (−13°F) test in the HVI directory
  • Plain fact: Total recovery in summer: 60% at 95°FThe share of heat and moisture kept out on a hot, humid day.

HRV or ERV: which fits your home?

Turning up on CO2

A CO2 control can switch it to a higher speed when the bedroom needs air, then back. HouseExhale’s setting: up at 750 ppm, back at 650, never above 800.

  • Not stated by the maker: No S&P CO2 control listed for this modelS&P lists its SCO2-W (600 to 2,000 ppm) for its TRC and TRPLe units. Ask S&P about this one.

What S&P (Soler & Palau) documents

  • Plain fact: S&P’s SCO2-W CO2 control: 600 to 2,000 ppmS&P lists it for its TRC and TRPLe units, not the TRe.
  • Not stated by the maker: The TRe’s boost terminals aren’t statedIt lists a boost (high speed) mode and a low-voltage control circuit.

Four ways to make it turn up by itself

  • A night scheduleAsk your installer

    Ask what its controls can schedule.

  • Its maker’s CO2 controlAsk your maker first

    The SCO2-W is listed for TRC and TRPLe; ask S&P about your model.

  • A CO2 control on its high-speed inputAsk your maker first

    Its boost input isn’t documented; ask S&P.

  • Your monitor and a smart-home relayAsk your maker first

    Not documented by S&P.

How to add CO₂ control to an HRV or ERV · CO₂ controls

Installing it

The maker’s facts an installer plans around. Your installer confirms them for your home.

Power
120 V, single-phase
Duct connections
Not stated in the sources we found
Size
Not stated in the sources we found
Weight
Not stated in the sources we found
Mounting
Not stated in the sources we found
Drain line
Not stated in the sources we found
Cold weather
Not stated in the sources we found
Balancing the airflow
Individual manual balancing of supply and exhaust
Ducts
Any unit orientation; verify duct integration in IOM

Controls

Not stated in the sources we found

Humidity control
Not confirmed
Bathroom boost
Not confirmed
Works without the internet
Documented

Owning it

Equipment price
Not stated in the sources we found
Rebates
Federal tax credits ended for work after 2025. Some states and utilities still pay toward an HRV or ERV: rebates by state.
Filters
Not stated in the sources we found
Warranty
Not stated in the sources we found
Sound
Not stated in the sources we found
Availability
Current model (sold in the US and Canada)

S&P’s page for the TReN90 (opens in a new tab)

Not known yet

What we couldn’t confirm from the maker or HVI. Ask the installer, and get it in writing with the quote.

  • The lowest airflow it can run at steadily
  • How it protects itself from frost in very cold weather
  • Duct collar size, in the review’s sources
  • Whether a CO2 control from another maker is supported
  • A current equipment price
  • Its warranty terms
  • Its size
  • How loud it is

Other sizes and similar units

Other S&P TReN sizes

Other ERVs with similar airflow

Compare them side by side All units

Sources

Certified airflow and efficiency from the HVI directory (exported September 23, 2026), joined to this exact model by its HVI number. The maker’s facts from our review of August 31, 2026 and our research of October 17, 2026. This is product information, not a design: your installer confirms the ducts, room-by-room airflow and controls, then measures the airflow after install.

Thinking about a system?

Measure your bedrooms first. When installers quote, the app checks the exact unit they propose, this one or any HVI-certified unit, against what your bedrooms need.