ERVBroan AI SeriesHVI 2004955

Broan AI Series B130E65RS

Energy recovery ventilator (ERV). Moves heat and some moisture between the outgoing and incoming air, so dry winter air keeps more of the home’s humidity and humid summer air brings in less.

About $1,139Equipment only, at SupplyHouse, October 2026. Installed cost is more.

  1. Fresh air in, from outside
  2. Fresh air out, to the rooms
  3. Stale air in, from the rooms
  4. Stale air out, to outside

Our drawing, measured from Broan-NuTone spec sheet B130E65RT/B130E65RS, "5" Ports Dimensions (Side Ports)", drawing VK0127 (page 2) to about half an inch: 18 3/4 in wide (23 3/8 in across the collars), 19 1/8 in high, 16 1/8 in deep; 5 in collars. The numbers are ours, the same on every unit.

At a glance

  • In its favour: HVI-certified (HVI 2004955)Its airflow and efficiency were tested to the Home Ventilating Institute’s standard.
  • Plain fact: 119 cfm at 0.4 in., 112 cfm at 0.5 in. of duct pressureCertified fresh air delivered, at HVI’s headline rating point and at the higher pressure many real ducts run at.
  • Not stated by the maker: No true CO2 control from BroanOn AI series units, OVR and 12V take a dry contact; whether it holds high speed while closed isn’t stated, so have it tested. Not VENT: it drops the unit to standby when the contact opens.
  • In its favour: Humidity control documented
  • Plain fact: How it handles frost in very cold weatherRecirculation defrost (Broan calls it Homeshield): when it is 23 °F (-5 °C) or colder outside, the unit periodically recirculates house air through the core to clear frost, with timing that varies with outdoor temperature and airflow. The installer can choose standard (DIS) or extended (PLU, for colder areas) defrost.

Certifications

  • HVI certified

    HVI 2004955

    The Home Ventilating Institute tested its airflow and heat recovery. The certified numbers on this page come from its directory. Find HVI 2004955 in HVI’s directory

  • ENERGY STAR (Canada)

    Not on the list

    Not on Natural Resources Canada’s ENERGY STAR list when we checked. ENERGY STAR certifies HRVs and ERVs only in Canada, so a unit sold in the U.S. may never have been submitted; that isn’t a sign it’s less efficient. Its HVI numbers show its heat recovery and fan power. NRCan’s ENERGY STAR list (checked October 19, 2026)

Would it cover your home?

Tell it who sleeps in each bedroom. It’s checked against the 800 ppm goal the same way the app checks a unit an installer quotes.

Loading the check…

Certified airflow

How much fresh air it delivers as the ducts push back. More duct pressure, less air: that’s why the installer’s duct design matters as much as the unit.

0501001502000.00.20.40.60.81.0Duct pressure (in. w.g.) →cfm119 cfm112 cfm
Certified net supply airflow from the HVI directory, at each tested duct pressure. The shaded band is 0.4 to 0.5 in.: HVI’s headline rating point, and the higher pressure HouseExhale also checks because many real duct systems run above their design.
Every certified point
Duct pressure (in. w.g.)Fresh air delivered (cfm)
0.1136
0.2131
0.3123
0.4119
0.5112
0.6104
0.795
0.887
0.976
1.064
Lowest steady airflow (maker)
35 cfm
Highest airflow (maker)
130 cfm

Heat and moisture recovery

Sensible recovery (SRE) is the share of heat kept in winter, after the fan’s own heat is taken out; total recovery (TRE) counts moisture too, in summer.

OutdoorsAirflowRecoveryFan powercfm per watt
32°F (0°C)66 cfm67% SRE30 W2.2
32°F (0°C)110 cfm63% SRE73 W1.5
-13°F (-25°C)66 cfm56% SRE62 W1
95°F (35°C), cooling51 cfm63% TRE22 W–
95°F (35°C), cooling110 cfm52% TRE77 W–
  • Plain fact: Keeps 63–67% of the heat at 32°FAcross the airflows HVI tested.
  • In its favour: Tested at −13°F too: 56% SREHVI’s very-cold test point, useful in cold climates.
  • Plain fact: Total recovery in summer: 52–63% at 95°FThe share of heat and moisture kept out on a hot, humid day.

HRV or ERV: which fits your home?

Turning up on CO2

A CO2 control can switch it to a higher speed when the bedroom needs air, then back. HouseExhale’s setting: up at 750 ppm, back at 650, never above 800.

  • Not stated by the maker: No true CO2 control from BroanOn AI series units, OVR and 12V take a dry contact; whether it holds high speed while closed isn’t stated, so have it tested. Not VENT: it drops the unit to standby when the contact opens.

What Broan, Venmar or vänEE documents

  • Not stated by the maker: No true CO2 control for its HRVs and ERVsIts wall controls go by humidity and outdoor temperature. Overture says it ventilates on CO2, but publishes no sensor type or levels; one spec lists eCO2.
  • Worth knowing: AI series: not the VENT inputA contact there runs the unit only while closed. Open, it drops to standby, so ventilation would stop whenever CO2 is low.
  • Plain fact: AI series: OVR and 12V take “any dry contact”Meant for a crank timer. Broan doesn’t say whether it holds high while closed: have it tested.
  • Worth knowing: Never put 24 V on the AI’s 6-terminal blockBroan says it can permanently damage the control board. The relay must be voltage-free.
  • Plain fact: Older models: joining OL and OC gives high speedBroan’s own push buttons run 20 to 60 minutes; how a held contact behaves isn’t stated.

Four ways to make it turn up by itself

  • A night scheduleDocumented

    The VTTOUCHW and VT8W wall controls can be scheduled.

  • Its maker’s CO2 controlAsk your maker first

    Overture says it ventilates on CO2, but its sensor and levels aren’t published. Ask before relying on it for 750.

  • A CO2 control on its high-speed inputAsk your maker first

    On AI units, OVR and 12V take a dry contact, never VENT. Whether it holds high is untested: your installer checks.

  • Your monitor and a smart-home relayAsk your maker first

    A voltage-free relay on OVR and 12V. Not documented by Broan.

How to add CO₂ control to an HRV or ERV · CO₂ controls

Installing it

The maker’s facts an installer plans around. Your installer confirms them for your home.

Power
120 V, 60 Hz, 2.4 A, 110 W. Plugs in: 6 ft cord with a 3-prong grounded plug (no extension cords).
Duct connections
5-inch round collars, four connections (fresh air in and out, stale air in and out), on the side (RS = side ports; B130E65RT has top ports).
Size
19.12 H × 23.78 W × 16.14 L (the product page gives no units; Broan's drawings are in inches).
Weight
About 37 lb (16.8 kg) assembled with core; about 44 lb (20 kg) shipping.
Mounting
Hung from joists or trusses on the included chains, or wall-mounted on the included universal brackets (2 or 4 brackets). Within 1/4 in. of level, in a space between 50 °F and 149 °F, near an outside wall and within 6 ft of an outlet.
Drain line
No drain line needed ("No drain required"; the manual says only HRV models need one).
Cold weather
Recirculation defrost (Broan calls it Homeshield): when it is 23 °F (-5 °C) or colder outside, the unit periodically recirculates house air through the core to clear frost, with timing that varies with outdoor temperature and airflow. The installer can choose standard (DIS) or extended (PLU, for colder areas) defrost.
Balancing the airflow
Virtuo constant-airflow auto-balancing
Ducts
Dedicated or selected central-HVAC integrations per manual
In the box
Washable MERV 8 filter (plus exhaust filter), hanging chains and universal brackets with screws, tie wraps, terminal connector for a wall control, 6 ft power cord.

Controls

  • Comes with: No wall control ships with the unit. It has a built-in LCD screen for setting airflow, balancing and fault codes; a wall control is optional.
  • Wall controls sold: VTTOUCHW Advanced Touchscreen (main): SMART, continuous, intermittent, recirculation (where offered), TURBO, AWAY, weekly schedule, humidity setting; VAUTOW Automatic (main): continuous MIN/MED/MAX, AUTO by outdoor temperature, intermittent, TURBO; VTSPEEDW Speed Selector (main): continuous 30–100 % speed, intermittent, TURBO; VTDEHUMW Dehumidistat (main): built-in humidity sensor, 30–55 % RH; VBATHW 20-40-60 (auxiliary, wired): runs MAX for 20, 40 or 60 minutes; VBATHBTW 20-40-60 Deluxe (auxiliary, 2 AAA batteries, pairs by Bluetooth with VTTOUCHW only; also boosts when it senses a humidity rise)
  • Boost: Timed: VBATHW / VBATHBTW give 20, 40 or 60 minutes at MAX; TURBO on the main controls runs MAX for 4 hours, then returns to the previous mode. The 20-40-60 override can be set to stay balanced (BAL), push more exhaust (PER) or keep distribution constant (DIS).
  • App or smart home: None. No app or Wi-Fi in any AI Series document opened.
  • High-speed input: Two dry-contact inputs. VENT (terminal block J13): held input. Closed runs the mode chosen in the DRY menu (MIN, INT, AUT or MAX); opening it puts the unit in Standby; it overrides the main wall control. OVR + 12V on the 6-position block: for the 20-40-60 control or a crank timer / any dry contact. Never put 24 VAC on the 6-position block.
  • Title24 note: The product page names VTSPEEDW and VTDEHUMW for California Title 24 fault-indicator compliance.
Scope: Wall-control list and behaviour come from the AI Series Wall Controls catalog and the AI Series manuals, which cover the whole AI Series; the catalog does not name individual models.
Humidity control
Documented
Bathroom boost
Documented
Works without the internet
Documented

Owning it

Equipment price
  • $1,139.48 at SupplyHouse, October 17, 2026In stock (38). No sale price shown.
Rebates
Federal tax credits ended for work after 2025. Some states and utilities still pay toward an HRV or ERV: rebates by state.
Filters
  • Type: Washable MERV 8 filter included; optional disposable MERV 13 upgrade
  • MERV: 8 standard; 13 optional
  • Part: MERV 8 filter kit SV66133 (manual); MERV 13 upgrade V24285 (product page)
  • How often: Clean the filters every 3 months; clean the core once a year in the fall (do not soak an ERV core in water)
Warranty
  • Core: 5 years (ERV core)
  • Parts: 5 years
  • Labor: Not covered (labor and shipping excluded)
  • Conditions: Original bill of purchase required; parts coverage depends on doing the core maintenance; excludes poor installation, misuse and negligence.
Sound
Not stated in the sources we found
Availability
Active. Broan's page has no discontinued notice; in stock at SupplyHouse.

Broan’s page for the B130E65RS (opens in a new tab)

Not known yet

What we couldn’t confirm from the maker or HVI. Ask the installer, and get it in writing with the quote.

  • Whether a CO2 control from another maker is supported
  • How loud it is

Other sizes and similar units

Other Broan AI Series sizes

Other ERVs with similar airflow

Compare them side by side All units

Sources

Certified airflow and efficiency from the HVI directory (exported September 23, 2026), joined to this exact model by its HVI number. The maker’s facts from our review of August 31, 2026 and our research of October 17, 2026. This is product information, not a design: your installer confirms the ducts, room-by-room airflow and controls, then measures the airflow after install.

Thinking about a system?

Measure your bedrooms first. When installers quote, the app checks the exact unit they propose, this one or any HVI-certified unit, against what your bedrooms need.