HRVAldes Residential HRVHVI 2505395

Aldes H120-TQG

Heat recovery ventilator (HRV). Moves heat between the outgoing and incoming air, so winter fresh air arrives warmer. Moisture goes out with the stale air.

  • ENERGY STAR (Canada)
  1. Fresh air in, from outside
  2. Fresh air out, to the rooms
  3. Stale air in, from the rooms
  4. Stale air out, to outside

Our drawing, measured from Aldes H120-TQG spec and technical data sheet (DTC 032025), "Dimensions" (page 2) to about half an inch: 23 1/8 in wide, 16 3/4 in high (19 in with the collars), 12 3/8 in deep; 4 in collars on top. The numbers are ours, the same on every unit.

At a glance

  • In its favour: HVI-certified (HVI 2505395)Its airflow and efficiency were tested to the Home Ventilating Institute’s standard.
  • Plain fact: 106 cfm at 0.4 in., 97 cfm at 0.5 in. of duct pressureCertified fresh air delivered, at HVI’s headline rating point and at the higher pressure many real ducts run at.
  • Not stated by the maker: No Aldes CO2 controlFrom the family’s 2018 manual: high speed is a switched line on terminals 1 and 4, and Aldes warns against controls other than its own. Ask Aldes before adding a CO2 relay.
  • Plain fact: How it handles frost in very cold weatherRecirculation defrost (2020 brochure, H120-TQG row). The IOM says the automatic defrost runs based on cold outdoor temperature, a cycle can take up to 30 minutes, and the EvacMAX high-exhaust mode turns frost control off (short use only). No source gives the temperature at which it starts.

Certifications

  • HVI certified

    HVI 2505395

    The Home Ventilating Institute tested its airflow and heat recovery. The certified numbers on this page come from its directory. Find HVI 2505395 in HVI’s directory

  • ENERGY STAR (Canada)

    Listed as H120-TQG

    On Natural Resources Canada’s ENERGY STAR list for HRVs and ERVs, which sets minimums for heat recovery in cold weather and for fan power. ENERGY STAR certifies HRVs and ERVs only in Canada. NRCan’s ENERGY STAR list (search the model number) (checked October 19, 2026)

Would it cover your home?

Tell it who sleeps in each bedroom. It’s checked against the 800 ppm goal the same way the app checks a unit an installer quotes.

Loading the check…

Certified airflow

How much fresh air it delivers as the ducts push back. More duct pressure, less air: that’s why the installer’s duct design matters as much as the unit.

0501001500.00.20.40.60.81.0Duct pressure (in. w.g.) →cfm106 cfm97 cfm
Certified net supply airflow from the HVI directory, at each tested duct pressure. The shaded band is 0.4 to 0.5 in.: HVI’s headline rating point, and the higher pressure HouseExhale also checks because many real duct systems run above their design.
Every certified point
Duct pressure (in. w.g.)Fresh air delivered (cfm)
0.1127
0.2121
0.3112
0.4106
0.597
0.689
0.783
0.872
0.964
1.055
Lowest steady airflow (maker)
Not stated in the review’s sources
Highest airflow (maker)
Not stated in the review’s sources

Heat recovery

Sensible recovery (SRE) is the share of heat kept in winter, after the fan’s own heat is taken out. Higher is warmer incoming air for the same airflow.

OutdoorsAirflowSREFan powercfm per watt
32°F (0°C)36 cfm75% SRE40 W0.9
32°F (0°C)49 cfm71% SRE47 W1
32°F (0°C)64 cfm69% SRE53 W1.2
32°F (0°C)81 cfm65% SRE74 W1
-13°F (-25°C)64 cfm62% SRE82 W–
  • Plain fact: Keeps 65–75% of the heat at 32°FAcross the airflows HVI tested.
  • In its favour: Tested at −13°F too: 62% SREHVI’s very-cold test point, useful in cold climates.

HRV or ERV: which fits your home?

Turning up on CO2

A CO2 control can switch it to a higher speed when the bedroom needs air, then back. HouseExhale’s setting: up at 750 ppm, back at 650, never above 800.

  • Not stated by the maker: No Aldes CO2 controlFrom the family’s 2018 manual: high speed is a switched line on terminals 1 and 4, and Aldes warns against controls other than its own. Ask Aldes before adding a CO2 relay.

What Aldes documents

  • Not stated by the maker: No Aldes CO2 controlIts controls are humidity, timers and speed switches.
  • Plain fact: High speed: a switched line between terminals 1 and 4 (its 2018 family manual)Aldes allows third-party switches in slave mode, but warns against speed controls, dehumidistats or timers other than its own. The EK80’s own manual sets high speed with a jumper between 3 and 4.
  • Worth knowing: EvacMAX (terminals 1 and 5) is for short periods onlyIt turns off frost protection, so it’s not for a CO2 control.

Four ways to make it turn up by itself

  • A night scheduleAsk your installer

    Its 20/40/60-minute timer or a mode control; ask about a night setting.

  • A CO2 control on its high-speed inputAsk your maker first

    High speed is a switched line on terminals 1 and 4; ask Aldes before adding a CO2 relay.

  • Your monitor and a smart-home relayAsk your maker first

    Not documented by Aldes.

  • Its maker’s CO2 controlNot for this unit

    Aldes doesn’t make a CO2 control.

How to add CO₂ control to an HRV or ERV · CO₂ controls

Installing it

The maker’s facts an installer plans around. Your installer confirms them for your home.

Power
Plugs into a standard grounded 120 V outlet with the unit's 3-foot cord; no extension cords. A separate 15 A / 120 V circuit is recommended. Amps and watts are not stated in the sources opened (the manual points to the model spec sheet).Scope: family IOM whose cover lists the H120; the H120-TQG code is not printed in it
Duct connections
4 in (102 mm) collars; four ports, all on top (no side ports). The current page says 'removable 4-inch vents on top of the unit'.Scope: H120-TQG row; top-port wording also on https://www.aldes-na.com/nam_en/produits-en/heat-energy-recovery-ventilator/hrv/h120
Size
Height 16-3/4 in (425 mm), 19 in (483 mm) with collars; width 23-1/8 in (587 mm); depth 12-3/8 in (314 mm)Scope: row shared by H110-TF, E110-TF and H120-TQG; the current H120 page gives the same inches with different mm (see notes)
Weight
29 lb (13 kg)Scope: row shared by H110-TF, E110-TF and H120-TQG
Mounting
Hung from the joists with the supplied chains and springs, or mounted on a wall with the wall-mount bracket (P/N 608575, sold separately; for H95, H110, H120 and H150 only). The unit must be level so condensation drains.Scope: chain/level wording from the 2018 IOM 609605 R2, which covers the H120; the current H120 page lists 'Wall mount 608575' as an accessory
Drain line
Yes: as an HRV it needs a drain line for condensation ('ERV models do not require plumbing'). The drain trap and tubing must be below the bottom of the door, sloping 1/4 in per foot away from the unit, and the unit must be level.Scope: family IOM covering the H120
Cold weather
Recirculation defrost (2020 brochure, H120-TQG row). The IOM says the automatic defrost runs based on cold outdoor temperature, a cycle can take up to 30 minutes, and the EvacMAX high-exhaust mode turns frost control off (short use only). No source gives the temperature at which it starts.
Balancing the airflow
Manual; see model installation manual
Ducts
See installation manual
In the box
The unit and a parts bag: springs, hooks, sheet-metal and wood screws, two universal drains, seal grommets, nuts, four door caps, chains, drain tubing and a drain tee. Quantities vary by model. The wall bracket is sold separately.Scope: family IOM covering the H120

Controls

  • Comes with: None stated. The 2018 IOM describes an on-unit FLEXControl board and an 8-position terminal block.
  • Wall controls sold: The H120 page lists Mode Control, Speed Control, an electronic humidistat with LCD, a 20-40-60 timer and a Digital Multifunction Wall Control. Part numbers from the brochure: humidity control 611224, 20/40/60 timer 611228, speed control 611229, mode control 611230, multifunction 611242. HVACQuick sells 611242 at $94.40 and 611228/611229/611230 at $37.50 each.
  • Boost: 20/40/60-minute timer (611228)
  • App or smart home: None mentioned
  • High-speed input: Per the 2018 IOM (summarized in the October 17 CO2 research): low speed is a link between terminals 1 and 3; high speed is a jumper on 3-4 plus a switched line between 1 and 4; EvacMAX is 1-5. 'Slave mode' lets an outside switch or device decide when the unit runs, but the manual says not to use speed controls, dehumidistats or timers other than those it names.
Scope: part numbers from the brochure (https://www.hvacquick.com/catalog_files/Aldes_VentZone_IAQ_ERV_HRV_Catalog.pdf); terminals from the family IOM; prices from https://hvacquick.com/products/residential/HRVs-and-ERVs/Residential-HRV-ERV/Aldes-Aeromatic-Series-Heat-Recovery-Ventilators-HRV
Humidity control
Not confirmed
Bathroom boost
Not confirmed
Works without the internet
Documented

Owning it

Equipment price
Not stated in the sources we found
Rebates
Federal tax credits ended for work after 2025. Some states and utilities still pay toward an HRV or ERV: rebates by state.
Filters
  • MERV: Optional MERV 6 or MERV 13 (packs of 2). The standard filter for the H120 is not named in the sources opened.
  • Part: MERV 6 612409 (pack of 2); MERV 13 612410 (pack of 2)
  • How often: The 2018 IOM (filter table doesn't list the H120) says MERV 6 and high-efficiency filters are replaced each season, and washable aluminum filters cleaned 2-3 times a year
Scope: interval from the family IOM, whose filter table does not name the H120
Warranty
  • Core: Limited lifetime on the HRV polypropylene core
  • Parts: Limited 5 years on all other covered components. The 2020 brochure gives 2 years on controls (see notes).
  • Motor: Included in 'all other covered components' (5 years); not listed separately
  • Conditions: The warranty period starts on the date of manufacture shown in the serial number
Scope: family warranty for residential units
Sound
Not stated in the sources we found
Availability
Active: Aldes North America's current HRV page lists the H120 with the H120-TQG reference. HVACQuick's Aldes HRV page sells the H95-TRG, H150-TRG and H190-TRG but not the H120.

Aldes’s page for the H120-TQG (opens in a new tab)

Not known yet

What we couldn’t confirm from the maker or HVI. Ask the installer, and get it in writing with the quote.

  • The lowest airflow it can run at steadily
  • How it protects itself from frost in very cold weather
  • Whether a CO2 control from another maker is supported
  • A current equipment price
  • How loud it is

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

  • Dimension: the current H120 page gives '23-1/8 in. x 16-3/4 in. x 12-3/8 in. (584mm x 406mm x 305mm)' (W × H × D). Its mm figures don't match its inches. The 2020 brochure gives 587 / 425 / 314 mm for the same inch values.
  • Warranty: the 2020 brochure says HRV cores for life, controls 2 years, other covered components 5 years. The 2018 IOM says core lifetime and all other covered components 5 years, with no separate controls term.

Other sizes and similar units

Other HRVs with similar airflow

Compare them side by side All units

Sources

Certified airflow and efficiency from the HVI directory (exported September 23, 2026), joined to this exact model by its HVI number. The maker’s facts from our review of August 31, 2026 and our research of October 17, 2026. This is product information, not a design: your installer confirms the ducts, room-by-room airflow and controls, then measures the airflow after install.

Thinking about a system?

Measure your bedrooms first. When installers quote, the app checks the exact unit they propose, this one or any HVI-certified unit, against what your bedrooms need.