Checked October 19, 2026

Rebates and tax credits in Texas

Federal tax credits ended for work done after 2025. What still helps pay for fresh air in Texas is below, checked October 19, 2026. Programs change and money runs out, so check each one’s own page before you buy or sign.

HRV or ERV, in plain words
  • Fresh in, stale out Two fans swap stale indoor air for outdoor air all night, and can supply a closed bedroom.
  • Keeps much of the heat The two streams pass through a core, so winter air comes in warmed. An open window can’t.
  • HRV or ERV? HRV: heat recovery ventilator (heat). ERV: energy recovery ventilator (heat and some moisture).
  • Not a purifier A purifier cleans the air you have but brings none in, so CO2 stays put.

Measure first: you may not need one.HRV vs ERV guideUnits we’ve reviewed

Money toward an HRV or ERV

Programs that pay toward the unit itself. Some take the money off at the distributor, so ask whether an installer’s price already includes it.

We didn’t find a program in Texas that names HRVs or ERVs. Your electric and gas utilities are still worth asking: search “[utility] HRV rebate” and “[utility] ERV rebate”.

Federal home energy rebates

Federal money that Texas runs. HEAR has a category for “insulation, air sealing, and ventilation” worth up to $1,600 for households under 150% of area median income; each state decides what counts as ventilation. ENERGY STAR’s table for HEAR says this category requires ENERGY STAR certification, and ENERGY STAR’s U.S. criteria for ventilation cover fans, not HRVs or ERVs, so ask the program whether an HRV or ERV counts before relying on it. HOMES pays toward whole-home upgrades modeled to save energy.

HEAR in Texas

Home Electrification and Appliance Rebates (also called HEEHR)

Not launched yetVentilation not confirmed

'Rebates are not currently available.' Both programs are 'in the planning and design phase', and no launch date is set.

State’s page: 2026-05-19

HOMES in Texas

Whole-home rebates, based on modeled or measured savings

Not confirmedVentilation not confirmed

Same as HEAR: not confirmed from SECO. Third-party sites report it has not launched.

Air sealing and insulation

These programs are more common than ventilation rebates, and sealing a house is often what makes it need planned fresh air. If a program is sealing yours, ask whether it requires ventilation afterward and whether it pays for it.

  • Home Energy Efficiency Program

    Oncor · Homes with Oncor electric delivery; renters with owner permission

    Not stated; incentives 'may cover all or some of the project costs' (examples: insulation, heating and cooling upgrades)

    'Due to high demand, funding for 2026 has been fully exhausted.' Oncor says to check back in January 2027. Incentives are paid to participating service providers.

    Ventilation not mentioned in what we readProgram page: 2026 program year

  • Low-Income Weatherization

    Oncor · Oncor-served homes with income at or below 200% of federal poverty guidelines

    Low- to no-cost upgrades such as insulation and heating and cooling

    2026 funding fully exhausted; check back January 2027.

    Ventilation not mentioned in what we readProgram page: 2026 income limits (Feb 1, 2026 to Jan 31, 2027)

  • Home Energy Savings

    Austin Energy · Austin Energy residential customers; homes 10 or more years old; not manufactured homes or homes with spray foam insulation

    Air infiltration and duct sealing $0.20 per sq ft of floor area; attic insulation to R-38: attic sq ft x $0.03 x R-value added, plus $45; rebates average about $3,000

    Austin Energy participating contractor required, after a no-cost assessment. At least three measures and $100 in rebates. Limited funds, first-come, first-served. No ventilation measure listed.

    Ventilation not mentioned in what we readProgram page: Page reviewed or modified 2025-09-02

  • Weatherization Assistance

    Austin Energy · Customers in the Customer Assistance Program or Medically Vulnerable Registry, at or below 80% of median family income (1 person $68,500; 4 persons $97,800)

    Free: attic insulation, duct repair and sealing, sealing cracks and gaps, door sealing, and more

    May be waitlisted when funding capacity is reached.

    Ventilation not mentioned in what we readProgram page: Page reviewed or modified 2026-10-01

  • Attic insulation rebate

    CPS Energy · CPS Energy residential customers (San Antonio)

    $0.35 per sq ft contractor-installed; $0.25 per sq ft self-installed

    Final R-38 or more with existing R-14 or less (or R-19 final, R-11 existing, for low clearance); attic over air-conditioned space; dated itemized invoice.

    Ventilation not mentioned in what we read

  • Casa Verde Weatherization

    CPS Energy · Income-qualified CPS Energy homeowners and renters (2026 income limits, energy burden of 10% or more, or income-based assistance)

    Rebates cover the cost of all eligible upgrades by a registered Trade Ally: attic, wall and floor insulation, air infiltration reduction, duct sealing, and more

    Ventilation not mentioned in what we readProgram page: 2026 income guidelines

  • Residential Standard Offer, Hard-to-Reach and Targeted Low-Income programs

    AEP Texas · AEP Texas service area

    Not stated; incentives go to participating contractors for insulation, air infiltration and duct sealing

    The page does not say whether programs are open or funded for 2026.

    Ventilation not mentioned in what we readProgram page: Page modified 2026-10-09

State tax credits

We didn’t find a Texas tax credit for ventilation, air sealing or insulation, and couldn’t confirm there is none.

Low-income help

The federal Weatherization Assistance Program can pay for air sealing, insulation and, where needed, ventilation at no cost to households that qualify by income. In Texas it’s run by Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA), per two third-party sites; TDHCA's page could not be opened. Not confirmed from an official source..

Before you sign

  1. Don’t start work yet. Many programs need pre-approval, a participating contractor or a test first, and work begun early often can’t qualify.
  2. Write down your electric and gas utilities. Rebates usually follow the utility, not the town.
  3. Read the conditions: a listed contractor, a qualifying model, your heating fuel, income limits, and install and claim deadlines.
  4. Ask each installer whether any discount is already in their price, and who files the paperwork.
  5. Get it in writing: each rebate, who applies for it, and what happens to the price if it’s denied.

More on costs and how to check: What drives the cost of ventilation and How to compare quotes.

Worth knowing

  • No Texas program was found that pays toward an HRV, ERV or any ventilation equipment.
  • Oncor's home efficiency and low-income weatherization funds for 2026 are used up; check again in January 2027 (tx1, tx2).
  • Austin Energy also lists a lower-cost 'Home Energy Savings Essential' path with rebates averaging $1,500 (tx3).
  • CenterPoint's pages could not be opened. A third-party site says CenterPoint pays 40% up to $750 for insulation for all-electric customers (energyrebatecalculator.com; not official, not confirmed) (tx11).
  • State tax: the Texas Comptroller was not checked, including its annual ENERGY STAR sales tax holiday, so state tax help is unknown.

Not tax or legal advice. We list what each program’s own pages said on the date shown, never which to choose, and we don’t know whether you qualify.

Sources