Works by typing one number a day
Awair Element
Shows an air score on the device, and its app exports the last 30 days. Needs a plug.
About $299checked October 2026; check before buying

Photo: Awair
- ±75 ppm or 10%CO2 accuracy, as the maker states it
- Type one numberHow the night gets into HouseExhale
- On by defaultSelf-calibration
- Plug it inNeeds a plug
At a glance
- In its favour: Import whole nights from its CSV
- Plain fact: Needs a plug
- Worth knowing: Self-calibration on; no off switch documented
- Not stated by the maker: Altitude correction not stated
With HouseExhale
The app looks at your bedroom’s CO2 across the night and checks it against the 800 ppm goal. Here’s how this monitor’s nights get in.
On Android, iPhone or in a browser
- Each morning, type the night’s high from the Awair Home app, or import its CSV.
Finding last night’s high
Open the Awair Home app each morning and look at last night’s CO2 history. Note the highest point while people were asleep, and type it in the app.
Its export is a CSV the app can import, so you can bring in whole nights instead of typing.
Where to put it: about head height, at least 2 ft from anyone’s face, away from windows, doors and vents, and in the same spot every night. More on placement
Calibrating it
- Worth knowing: Self-calibration on; no off switch documentedOn; the maker doesn’t say whether it can be turned off (it treats each day’s low as fresh air; Awair asks for fresh air at least weekly)
Outdoor air is about 425 ppm. Outside in the shade, a good monitor settles between about 400 and 450 within 15 to 30 minutes. Many monitors treat fresh air as 400, so 400 to 420 is normal. Can I trust my monitor?
Specs
- Sensor and accuracy
- True CO2 (NDIR, Telaire T6703), ±75 ppm or 10%, whichever is greater
- Self-calibration
- On; the maker doesn’t say whether it can be turned off (it treats each day’s low as fresh air; Awair asks for fresh air at least weekly)
- Corrects for altitude
- Not stated by the maker
- Also measures
- Temperature, humidity, VOCs and PM2.5
- CO2 range
- 400–5,000 ppm
- How often it updates
- Awair says the monitor updates its values every 10 seconds. Home Assistant reads it every 30 seconds on the home network, or gets 5-minute summaries from the cloud.
- Power
- Plug-in only
- Screen
- Shows its score on the device
- History
- The Awair Home app exports the last 30 days as a CSV
- App
- Awair Home app for iPhone and Android
- Exports a CSV
- Yes
- Connects by
- Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz only), Bluetooth LE 4.1 and a sub-1 GHz radio (915 MHz in the US). Setup needs the Awair Home app, an Awair account and a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.
- Alarm
- No sound alarm found. A colored light shows the overall air score. The app can notify you when CO2 or VOCs spike and lets you set alerts.
- Smart home
- Awair lists Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant and IFTTT. Home Assistant: the official Awair integration works locally, checking every 30 seconds, once “Local API” is turned on in the Awair Home app (Awair calls this beta for the Element). It also works through the cloud with a developer token. No Apple Home or Matter support found.
- Size
- 6.1 × 3.3 × 1.8 in, per a reviewer; Awair’s page shows its dimensions only in an image
- Weight
- 1.15 lb, per a reviewer
- Works in
- −10 to 50 °C (14–122 °F), 10–80% humidity, non-condensing
- In the box
- The monitor, a USB power cable and a power adapter (a reviewer adds a manual)
- Warranty
- 1 year, per a reviewer; no Awair page found that states it
Specs from the maker’s own pages, checked October 12 and October 17, 2026. “Not stated by the maker” means no maker page we could open says.
Turning ventilation up
Home Assistant’s Awair integration reads it on your own network every 30 seconds once Local API is turned on in the Awair Home app (Awair calls this beta for the Element). Home Assistant: Awair integration
With a smart-home relay on a ventilator’s high-speed input, that reading can turn an HRV or ERV up at 750 ppm and back down at 650. Ventilator makers don’t document this, so check your unit’s manual first, and keep to low-voltage inputs.
Before you buy
- Worth knowing: Check the price before buyingWe couldn’t confirm a current store price, or it was out of stock, when we checked.
- Plain fact: About $299 before tax and shippingListed at $299 on Awair’s site; reported gone from Amazon since April 2026.
About $299, checked October 2026; check before buying. Prices change often; we checked at the maker’s store and large US retailers. Any monitor that measures true CO2 works with HouseExhale, and one is enough: move it between rooms.
Compare it
The monitors closest to it in price.

Airthings View Plus
About $330
Measures radon and particles too, on batteries or USB, with up to a year of history to export.

Airthings Wave Plus
About $230–$250
Measures radon too. It has no screen: you read the numbers in the Airthings app.
Sources
- Awair: technical accuracy of Element sensors
- Awair: CO2 sensor accuracy over time (self-calibration)
- Awair: exporting Element data
- Home Assistant: Awair integration
- Air Purifier First: Awair Element review (updated June 2023)
- Awair Element product page
- Awair support: Element vs 2nd Edition
- Awair support: Local API feature
- Awair support: system requirements
- Trane: Awair Element
- Awair support: placing and caring for Awair Element
Already have one?
Set it up in the app tonight. It takes about 5 minutes, and the first answer comes after two or three nights.