ERVPanasonic Intelli-Balance 100

Panasonic Intelli-Balance 100 (FV-10VEC2)

Energy recovery ventilator (ERV). Moves heat and some moisture between the outgoing and incoming air, so dry winter air keeps more of the home’s humidity and humid summer air brings in less.

  1. Fresh air in, from outside
  2. Fresh air out, to the rooms
  3. Stale air in, from the rooms
  4. Stale air out, to outside

Our drawing, measured from Panasonic FV-10VEC2 spec sheet IAQ19204ST (Lowe’s copy), with the duct diagram in installation manual 10VC2M450B (spec sheet page 1; manual page 8) to about half an inch: 28 1/2 in long, 23 in wide, 8 7/8 in high; four collars that take 4 or 6 in duct, two at each end, 13 in apart. The numbers are ours, the same on every unit.

At a glance

  • Worth knowing: Its maker lists it as discontinuedDiscontinued. Panasonic's Discontinued Models page lists FV-10VEC2 (and FV-10VE2, FV-10VEC2R, FV-10VEC2RH, FV-10VE2H, FV-10VEC2H) without naming a replacement. SupplyHouse says it was discontinued by the manufacturer on May 12, 2026 and suggests the FV-12ESC1 (Intelli-Balance 120 Elite Plus+).
  • Worth knowing: No HVI listing confirmed for this exact modelAsk the installer for its HVI number before relying on its airflow.
  • Not stated by the maker: No certified airflow to check
  • Worth knowing: No Panasonic CO2 control, and its boost switch is 120 VA low-voltage CO2 relay isn’t made for that. Ask an electrician.
  • Plain fact: How it handles frost in very cold weatherCold-climate model that recirculates indoor air to defrost. Product page: recommended where it gets as cold as -22°F (-30°C); below that the defrost cycle stops the unit for 47 minutes, runs heat exchange for 4 minutes to check the outdoor temperature, then recirculates for 9 minutes at 50 CFM. The defrost cycle overrides the ASHRAE 62.2 timer. Manual: between 14°F and -22°F supply airflow is held to no more than exhaust plus 20 CFM; below -22°F the unit stops automatically; it is slightly louder while defrosting; a frozen damper can take up to 24 hours to clear. See notes for a different threshold on the spec sheet.

Certifications

  • HVI certified

    No HVI listing confirmed

    Ask the installer for its HVI number before relying on its airflow. HVI’s directory

  • ENERGY STAR (Canada)

    Not on the list

    Not on Natural Resources Canada’s ENERGY STAR list when we checked. ENERGY STAR certifies HRVs and ERVs only in Canada, so a unit sold in the U.S. may never have been submitted; that isn’t a sign it’s less efficient. Its HVI numbers show its heat recovery and fan power. NRCan’s ENERGY STAR list (checked October 19, 2026)

Would it cover your home?

Tell it who sleeps in each bedroom. It’s checked against the 800 ppm goal the same way the app checks a unit an installer quotes.

Loading the check…

Certified airflow

How much fresh air it delivers as the ducts push back. More duct pressure, less air: that’s why the installer’s duct design matters as much as the unit.

No certified airflow in the HVI directory for this exact model. Ask the installer for its HVI listing before relying on its airflow.

Lowest steady airflow (maker)
30 cfm
Highest airflow (maker)
100 cfm

Heat and moisture recovery

Sensible recovery (SRE) is the share of heat kept in winter, after the fan’s own heat is taken out; total recovery (TRE) counts moisture too, in summer.

No certified energy ratings in the HVI directory for this model.

  • Not stated by the maker: No very-cold (−13°F) test in the HVI directory

HRV or ERV: which fits your home?

Turning up on CO2

A CO2 control can switch it to a higher speed when the bedroom needs air, then back. HouseExhale’s setting: up at 750 ppm, back at 650, never above 800.

  • Worth knowing: No Panasonic CO2 control, and its boost switch is 120 VA low-voltage CO2 relay isn’t made for that. Ask an electrician.

What Panasonic documents

  • Not stated by the maker: No Panasonic CO2 controlIts Swidget smart controls can boost on their own sensors’ readings, but those list VOCs and air quality, not true CO2.
  • In its favour: Intelli-Balance Elite and BalancedHome: a dry-contact boost inputTerminals BST and GND; up to two boost switches. The manual doesn’t say if boost holds while closed.
  • Worth knowing: Intelli-Balance 100 (FV-10VEC2): its boost switch is 120 VA low-voltage CO2 relay isn’t made for that. Ask an electrician.
  • Plain fact: The Swidget Wi-Fi module can schedule boostFor the Elite and BalancedHome models.

Four ways to make it turn up by itself

  • A night scheduleDocumented

    Swidget’s Wi-Fi module schedules boost on Elite and BalancedHome models.

  • A CO2 control on its high-speed inputAsk your installer

    Elite and BalancedHome take a dry contact on BST. The Intelli-Balance 100’s boost is 120 V: an electrician’s job.

  • Your monitor and a smart-home relayAsk your maker first

    A dry-contact relay on BST, on Elite and BalancedHome models only. Not documented by Panasonic.

  • Its maker’s CO2 controlNot for this unit

    Panasonic doesn’t make a CO2 control.

How to add CO₂ control to an HRV or ERV · CO₂ controls

Installing it

The maker’s facts an installer plans around. Your installer confirms them for your home.

Power
120 V, 60 Hz. Spec sheet: 81 W at 0.1 in. w.g. and 100 W at 0.4 in. w.g. Panasonic calls this the corded model; the manual shows a junction-box hookup for the hard-wired H versions (FV-10VEC2H). Amps are not stated.
Duct connections
Four built-in dual-size duct adapters that take 4 in or 6 in round duct: two for exhaust (stale air) and two for supply (fresh air). The outdoor-air and exhaust ducts must run directly outside. Port positions are not described in words.
Size
Not stated in the sources we found
Weight
Not stated in the sources we found
Mounting
Ceiling or wall. On a wall it hangs from a wall bracket and hanger; the pre-drilled bracket fits studs 16, 19 or 24 in apart. On a ceiling it hangs level from joists on five chains (not supplied; each must hold at least 66 lb). The joists or studs must carry more than five times the unit's weight.Scope: manual covers FV-10VEC2, FV-10VEC2H, FV-10VE2, FV-10VE2H; bracket spacing from the spec sheet
Drain line
No drain line: the product page says the unit doesn't need a condensation line. The manual adds that after running in low temperatures you remove four plugs to let condensed water out.Scope: the four-plug note is from manual 10VC2M450B-EN
Cold weather
Cold-climate model that recirculates indoor air to defrost. Product page: recommended where it gets as cold as -22°F (-30°C); below that the defrost cycle stops the unit for 47 minutes, runs heat exchange for 4 minutes to check the outdoor temperature, then recirculates for 9 minutes at 50 CFM. The defrost cycle overrides the ASHRAE 62.2 timer. Manual: between 14°F and -22°F supply airflow is held to no more than exhaust plus 20 CFM; below -22°F the unit stops automatically; it is slightly louder while defrosting; a frozen damper can take up to 24 hours to clear. See notes for a different threshold on the spec sheet.
Balancing the airflow
SmartFlow static-pressure compensation; independent supply/exhaust presets
Ducts
Standalone or with central HVAC; no condensate line
In the box
MERV 8 filters (supply and exhaust). No fuller box list was found; the manual says hanging chains are not supplied.

Controls

  • Comes with: Dials on the unit: exhaust airflow (EA) and supply airflow (SA), each 30-100 CFM (default 100), an ASHRAE minutes-per-hour timer (default 60 min/h), a main switch and a filter reset button.
  • Wall controls sold: No Panasonic wall-control part number is given for this model. The FV-SCVE2 wall control and WP100PBA Wi-Fi module pages do not list it, and the CO2 research found the FV-SWLV1060 timer is not listed for it. An optional HVAC/air-handler signal cord is mentioned (no part number).
  • Boost: Boost switch input: while the boost switch is ON the unit runs 100 CFM supply and 100 CFM exhaust at 60 min/h, and it returns to the owner's settings when OFF (held, not timed).
  • App or smart home: None found.
  • High-speed input: Boost switch and wall switch terminals (the wall-switch terminal ships jumpered). The manual says these switches must be rated for more than 120 V, 3 A, so they are line-voltage, not low-voltage dry contacts. It also warns not to use solid-state controls.
Humidity control
Not confirmed
Bathroom boost
Documented
Works without the internet
Documented

Owning it

Equipment price
Not stated in the sources we found
Rebates
Federal tax credits ended for work after 2025. Some states and utilities still pay toward an HRV or ERV: rebates by state.
Filters
  • Type: Two filters, one on the supply side and one on the exhaust side
  • MERV: MERV 8 included; MERV 13 optional
  • Part: Outdoor-air filter replacements: FV-FL0810VE1 (MERV 8) or FV-FL1310VE1 (MERV 13)
  • How often: Vacuum both filters every 2-3 months. Inspect the supply filter every 90 days and replace it every 6 months. The filter light comes on after 90 days of run time.
Scope: MERV ratings from the spec sheet and product page
Warranty
  • Parts: 3 years from the original purchase date for all other parts
  • Motor: 6 years from the original purchase date on the DC motors
Sound
Not stated in the sources we found
Availability
Discontinued. Panasonic's Discontinued Models page lists FV-10VEC2 (and FV-10VE2, FV-10VEC2R, FV-10VEC2RH, FV-10VE2H, FV-10VEC2H) without naming a replacement. SupplyHouse says it was discontinued by the manufacturer on May 12, 2026 and suggests the FV-12ESC1 (Intelli-Balance 120 Elite Plus+).

Panasonic’s page for the FV-10VEC2 (opens in a new tab)

Not known yet

What we couldn’t confirm from the maker or HVI. Ask the installer, and get it in writing with the quote.

  • An HVI listing for this exact model
  • A current equipment price
  • Its size
  • How loud it is

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

  • Frost threshold: the spec sheet says the supply-port damper closes below -13°F (-25°C), while the product page and manual use -22°F (-30°C).
  • Power: SupplyHouse lists 64 W; the Panasonic spec sheet gives 81 W at 0.1 in. w.g. and 100 W at 0.4 in. w.g.
  • Mounting conflict at SupplyHouse: its specs say 'Ceiling Recessed' and its installation type says 'Wall Mount'. Panasonic says ceiling or wall.

Other sizes and similar units

Compare them side by side All units

Sources

Certified airflow and efficiency from the HVI directory (exported September 23, 2026), joined to this exact model by its HVI number. The maker’s facts from our review of August 31, 2026 and our research of October 17, 2026. This is product information, not a design: your installer confirms the ducts, room-by-room airflow and controls, then measures the airflow after install.

Thinking about a system?

Measure your bedrooms first. When installers quote, the app checks the exact unit they propose, this one or any HVI-certified unit, against what your bedrooms need.